Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
im sorry, i guess this is a old question for all of you.. i've installed fedora on 1st boot. and ubuntu on 2nd boot. and my fdisk looks like this ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jakarta
    Posts
    18

    Unhappy [help] configuring after installing dual boot fedora and ubuntu....


    im sorry, i guess this is a old question for all of you..

    i've installed fedora on 1st boot. and ubuntu on 2nd boot.
    and my fdisk looks like this :
    Disk /dev/hdb: 81.9 GB, 81964302336 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9964 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/hdb1 * 1 2167 17406396 83 Linux <--root fedora
    /dev/hdb2 2168 2422 2048287+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris <--swap fedora
    /dev/hdb3 2423 9964 60581115 5 Extended
    /dev/hdb5 2423 4579 17326071 83 Linux <--root ubuntu
    /dev/hdb6 4580 4834 2048256 82 Linux swap / Solaris <--swap ubuntu
    /dev/hdb7 4835 9964 41206693+ 83 Linux <-- /home ubuntu
    the problem is, ubuntu cannot auto-detect other linux boot, (it's so different when im using dual boot with windows and ubuntu).

    would anybody can help me?

    thank u very much..

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    copy title, root, kernel and initrd lines from /boot/grub/grub.conf file of Fedora and paste in Ubuntu's menu.lst file.
    OR
    post the contents of both files.
    Fedora's grub.conf file and Ubuntu's menu.lst file.





    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jakarta
    Posts
    18
    dear casper..
    this is my menu.lst on ubuntu

    title Ubuntu, kernel 2.6.17-10-generic
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.17-10-generic root=/dev/hdb1 ro quiet splash
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.17-10-generic
    quiet
    savedefault
    boot

    title Ubuntu, kernel 2.6.17-10-generic (recovery mode)
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.17-10-generic root=/dev/hdb1 ro single
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.17-10-generic
    boot

    title Ubuntu, memtest86+
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot/memtest86+.bin
    quiet
    boot
    and for the grub.conf on fedora
    i've mounted the fedora on ubuntu,
    i have create folder in '/media/fedora'
    and i mounted it with 'mount -t ext3 /dev/hdb1 /media/fedora'
    yes, the mounted was success,
    but after i, change directory from '/media/fedora' to /boot/grup/
    the grub folder that i have mounted is same as in my ubuntu.

    root@lovehate:/# mount -t ext3 /dev/hdb1 /media/fedora/
    root@lovehate:/# cd /media/fedora/
    root@lovehate:/media/fedora# ls
    bin cdrom etc initrd lib media opt root srv tmp var
    boot dev home initrd.img lost+found mnt proc sbin sys usr vmlinuz
    root@lovehate:/media/fedora# cd boot/
    root@lovehate:/media/fedora/boot# ls
    default e2fs_stage1_5 installed-version menu.lst minix_stage1_5 stage1 xfs_stage1_5
    device.map fat_stage1_5 jfs_stage1_5 menu.lst.default reiserfs_stage1_5 stage2


    root@lovehate:/media/fedora/boot#
    grub folder on my current ubuntu
    root@lovehate:/boot/grub# ls
    default e2fs_stage1_5 installed-version menu.lst minix_stage1_5 stage1 xfs_stage1_5
    device.map fat_stage1_5 jfs_stage1_5 menu.lst.default reiserfs_stage1_5 stage2

    because of that.. i can't find the grub.conf on fedora i've installed.

    thanks casper...i hope you can give me a clue..

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    didn't you create /boot partition during 'Fedora' installation?
    whats in the 'menu.lst' file of Fedora's 'boot' folder?
    post the contents here.





    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jakarta
    Posts
    18
    i've installed the '/boot' folder whent i installed fedora
    /dev/hdb1 * 1 2167 17406396 83 Linux <--root fedora

    afterwards,
    i installed ubuntu which it root
    /dev/hdb5 2423 4579 17326071 83 Linux <--root ubuntu

    title Ubuntu, kernel 2.6.17-10-generic
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.17-10-generic root=/dev/hdb1 ro quiet splash
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.17-10-generic
    quiet
    savedefault
    boot

    title Ubuntu, kernel 2.6.17-10-generic (recovery mode)
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.17-10-generic root=/dev/hdb1 ro single
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.17-10-generic
    boot
    there it goes casper. that's menu.lst from path root@lovehate:/media/fedora/boot/grub# nano menu.lst

    it said that the ubuntu root 'root=/dev/hdb1', i sure bout my 1st installation that fedora was on '/dev/hdb1/' and ubuntu on '/dev/hdb5/'

    and what is the meaning of line 'root (hd0,0)' on my menu.lst., and what happen if change it?

    thanks casper..

  7. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    according to 'kernel' line of Ubuntu's menu.lst, Ubuntu is installed in /dev/hda1.
    i think you overwrote Fedora installation with Ubuntu.
    root( hd0, 0 ) means, OS is in First Partition (0) of first HardDisk (hd0).
    mount Fedora's partition and execute 'df -h' command. post the output here.





    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jakarta
    Posts
    18
    thanks casper..
    i've already mounted the fedora partition..
    and the execute 'df -h /media/fedora'
    and the result is
    root@lovehate:/media# df -h fedora/
    Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/hdb1 17G 2.7G 13G 17% /media/fedora
    and my current fdisk is
    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/hdb1 * 1 2167 17406396 83 Linux
    /dev/hdb2 2168 2422 2048287+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/hdb3 2423 9964 60581115 5 Extended
    /dev/hdb5 2423 4579 17326071 83 Linux
    /dev/hdb6 4580 4834 2048256 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/hdb7 4835 9964 41206693+ 83 Linux
    and what does it means casper? is it bad?


    according your explanation, that on hdb1 is also ubuntu filesystem? and so does hdb5?
    and ubuntu on my pc is not on hdb5, but on hdb1? how bout if i reinstall the fedora again on hdb5?

    thanks casper.

    oufff..i guess you're rite casper. i guess i make mistake when i installed ubuntu,.
    cause. ive been check my '/' with command 'df -h /' and the result was same as 'media/fedora/'
    Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/hdb1 17G 2.7G 13G 18% /
    how bout if i reinstall the fedora again on hdb5? and how is the setting of the grup when installation fedora?
    is on (hd0,1) or (hd1,0)..? or (hd5,0) or (hd0,5)?

    thanks casper...

  9. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Ubuntu's partitions are listed in /etc/fstab file. post its contents. i can't suggest anything before checking fstab's contents.





    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jakarta
    Posts
    18
    there's it goes..

    # /etc/fstab: static file system information.
    #
    # <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
    # /dev/hdb1
    UUID=0fa9ec53-6cb3-4832-bae1-660f824fd7ed / ext3 defaults,errors=remount-ro 0 1
    # /dev/hdb7
    UUID=9c23f6bd-f921-4c8a-ad32-99a2d11b509b /home ext3 defaults 0 2
    # /dev/hdb6
    UUID=d045909d-b148-48d1-adcc-5e1569489377 none swap sw 0 0
    /dev/hdc /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 user,noauto 0 0
    /dev/ /media/floppy0 auto rw,user,noauto 0 0



    i guess i must reinstall the fedora again??
    if i compare from my 'fdisk'
    that hdb5 is not contain to the 'fstab' which it blocks is '17326071'.
    yap..i guess you are right, that my fedora installation was overwrote when i installed ubuntu.
    maybe i can, proceed fedora installation with
    hdb5 as fedora's '/root'
    hdb2 as fedora's 'swap'.

    and how bout setting for the grub when im installing fedora?

    thanks casper..

  11. #10
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Fedora creates three partitions by default. / (root), /boot and swap. you can use Ubunut's swap partition for Fedora. all of four OS are using same SWAP space in my machine.
    check this 'tutorial' before installing Fedora. after Fedora installation, you have to add an entry for Ubuntu in Fedora's grub.conf file.




    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •