Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello, I'm new to linux and I need some help. Im trying to install linux on another computer I have with 2 harddrives on it. The Master drive has windows ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Help with LILO college Linux/Windows XP

Hello, I'm new to linux and I need some help. Im trying to install linux on another computer I have with 2 harddrives on it. The Master drive has windows XP installed on it, and the Slave drive has nothing on at the moment.
    My problem is that when I try to install college linux on the empty hard drive, I cant access windows afterwards. I recognise that this is to do with LILO and i need help setting it up. (I've managed it once by accident, and im unable to make it work now)
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Pyeboy

you need to edit, as the root user, the file /etc/lilo.conf , however, as I haven't runLILO in years I don't feel qualified to tell you what needs to go in there. Once you have the required WinXP lines entered, you then need to run /sbin/lilo to get them put into the force.

Or, you could always instal GRUB instead of Lilo and then have a look at the tutorial section on this site to see how to make it work.

have fun

Nerderello

Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

Just Joined!
    I have a less elegant but pragmatic answer.

I have two hard drives as well, with XP on the first one and Debian on the second.

Unless you have to have college linux, I would say the easiest thing to do is install Debian (cost me about 15 bucks, including a donation) and let the installer do lilo for you. It will automatically find XP there and set it up for you. The times I played with /etc/lilo.conf resulted in heartache and misery for me.

Assuming the college linux doesn't do it's own boot loader install for you, of course.

Just Joined!