Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Hai, My PC configuration is Intel Duo core Processor 2.8GHz D101GGC motherboard 512MB RAM 80GB Hard disk But I failed to install Fedora 5 or 6. Plz Help me. The ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    3

    Red face Fail to install fedora5/6


    Hai,
    My PC configuration is
    Intel Duo core Processor 2.8GHz
    D101GGC motherboard
    512MB RAM
    80GB Hard disk

    But I failed to install Fedora 5 or 6.
    Plz Help me.
    The installation stops at...
    My CD s were burnt correctly.Because I have installed in other systems with those C
    D s only

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Quote Originally Posted by venkat_taku
    But I failed to install Fedora 5 or 6.
    Plz Help me.
    The installation stops at...
    whats the error message? where installation stops? did you burn CD/DVD correctly?







    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    3

    Smile Installation problems

    Ya.MY CDs are alright.Because I have installed in other systems with those CDs only.
    I have stopped during media test

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    3

    Smile CD s are burned correctly

    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper
    whats the error message? where installation stops? did you burn CD/DVD correctly?







    Casper
    It is asking for Optins for
    1.linux medchk
    2.linux rescue
    3.linux noprobe
    and so on
    next screen appears blue and at top left there text appaers that Welcome to Fedora
    Then It ask for media check
    If I ask for media check thenlk some unknown language finds to me.
    If I skips it then also same is going on.


    I have used those CDs to install in other systems.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    install Fedora in text mode. you could configure Display settings later on.
    try these options at boot: prompt
    Code:
    linux ide=nodma
    linux acpi=off
    linux acpi=off apm=off
    linux nofb



    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1

    Fedora Core 5 on D101GGC

    I had a similar problem installing Fedora Core 5 on my Desktop with XP Dual boot

    Intel Pentium D 2.8 GHZ
    D101GGC Intel Desktop Board
    1GB RAM
    ATI Radeon 200 Xpress Series
    160 GB SATA Drive

    None of the below work:

    linux text - 2 horizontal lines of garbage displayed in the centre of the monitor

    linux ide=nodma - A white grainy screen without any display
    linux acpi=off - 2 horizontal lines of garbage displayed in the centre of the monitor
    linux acpi=off apm=off - 2 horizontal lines of garbage displayed in the centre of the monitor
    linux nofb - 2 horizontal lines of garbage displayed in the centre of the monitor

    After a lot of struggle, was able to install with the following option:

    linux text ide=nodma nofb resolution=lowres

    Once installed, in the file /etc/X11/xorg.conf change

    Driver "radeon" to Driver "vesa" for Identifier "ATI Radeon 9600"

    Thought this would help people struggling with similar issues

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1

    Hi All...

    Hi …

    What are the fully supported Linux versions (especially Fedora / Redhat versions) for Intel D101GGC Desktop Board?

    Please reply me.
    Last edited by devils casper; 05-07-2007 at 06:57 PM. Reason: removed color and font tags

  8. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    latest version of Fedora and RHEL are fully compatible with it. you might face Display problems and its easy to fix that.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •