Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 4 of 4
HI Thank you for reading my post. i read some posts and article about this subject but all of those article tips does not apply on my item . I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    30

    problem with creating multiboot with two hard disk and two OS


    HI
    Thank you for reading my post.
    i read some posts and article about this subject but all of those article tips does not apply on my item .

    I have installed OpenSuse 10.2 and now i can not use multiboot feature and each time i want to go to the other OS i should change the boot priority of hard disks in my BIOS.
    for example if i want linux i should make linux hard disk to be first boot and if i want windows i should go to bios and change the first boot to my windows hard disk.

    I should say that i have two SATA hard disk

    here is content of device.map this file is located in /boot/grub/
    Code:
    (fd0)	/dev/fd0
    (hd0)	/dev/sda
    (hd1)	/dev/sdb

    here is the fdisk -l command output,
    Code:
    Disk /dev/sda: 200.0 GB, 200049647616 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 24321 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sda1               1        7649    61440561    7  HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda2            7650       15298    61440592+   f  W95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/sda3           15299       15492     1558305   82  Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/sda4   *       15493       24321    70918942+  83  Linux
    /dev/sda5            7650       15043    59392273+   7  HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda6           15044       15298     2048256    7  HPFS/NTFS
    
    Disk /dev/sdb: 203.9 GB, 203928109056 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 24792 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sdb1   *           1        6374    51199123+   7  HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sdb2            6375       24792   147942585    5  Extended
    /dev/sdb5            6375       19122   102398278+   7  HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sdb6           19123       24792    45544243+   7  HPFS/NTFS
    it is from when i boot the system with linux, so Linux hard disk is first boot in the bios.

    here is content of menu.lst from grub directory .

    Code:
    # Modified by YaST2. Last modification on Wed Dec 27 03:58:55 IRST 2006
    default 1
    timeout 8
    gfxmenu (hd0,3)/boot/message
    ##YaST - activate
    
    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: linux###
    title openSUSE 10.2
        root (hd0,3)
        kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.18.2-34-default root=/dev/sda4 vga=0x31a resume=/dev/sda3 splash=silent showopts
        initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.18.2-34-default
    
    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: windows###
    title Windows
        map(hd0)(hd1)
        map(hd1)(hd0)
        rootnoverify (hd1,0)
        chainloader (hd1,0)+1
    
    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: floppy###
    title Floppy
        rootnoverify (hd0,0)
        chainloader (fd0)+1
    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: failsafe###
    title Failsafe -- openSUSE 10.2
        root (hd0,3)
        kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.18.2-34-default root=/dev/sda4 vga=normal showopts ide=nodma apm=off acpi=off noresume nosmp noapic maxcpus=0 edd=off 3
        initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.18.2-34-default
    
    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: xen###
    title XEN
        root (hd0,3)
        kernel /boot/xen.gz
        module /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.18.2-34-xen root=/dev/sda4 vga=0x31a resume=/dev/sda3 splash=silent showopts
        module /boot/initrd-2.6.18.2-34-xen

    I tried many options with title windows, for example i changes all 1 to 0 and 0 to 1, it had no effect.
    it always say that NTLD missing and use ALT+CTRL+Del to reboot the system.


    how i can add multiboot feature ?

    thanks

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    edit menu.lst file.
    Code:
    title Windows
        map(hd0)(hd1)
        map(hd1)(hd0)
        rootnoverify (hd1,0)
        chainloader +1





    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    30
    thank you very much. it works now.
    can i ask what is different between chainloader +1 and chainloader (hd1,0)+1 ?

    thanks

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    you are Welcome legolas !
    mapping code was overridden by chainloader (hd1,0)+1.






    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •