Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
My old set up was 3 hard drives, 2 slaves and one main. On the main it had windows xp and fedora core 5. I then deleted fedora core in ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hell, join me :)
    Posts
    41

    Problems booting


    My old set up was 3 hard drives, 2 slaves and one main. On the main it had windows xp and fedora core 5. I then deleted fedora core in order to install ubuntu, on doing this when i rebooted it gave me a booting error. I decided it was because i removed the grub boot loader... so i figured if i installed ubuntu it'd fix this problem. Well i was incorrect and now i have no idea how to make my computer boot up properly

    If it helps i ave a knoppix and ubuntu live cd as well

    OH.. also the "error" says gnu grub version 0.97 then under that it says..
    minimal bash-like line editing is supported, i'm not stupid i know what that means but i am not a bash person im no good with the terminal

    Any one help?
    ~blitze

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    boot up through Ubuntu LiveCD and execute this code in terminal/konsole
    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    it will ask for password, press 'Enter' key and post output here.







    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hell, join me :)
    Posts
    41
    Thank you for the assistance.

    It states this:

    fdisk: invalid option -- 1

    Usage: fdisk [-b ssz] [-u] DISK CHANGE PARTITION TABLE
    fdisk -l [-b ssz] [-u] LIST PARTITION TABLES
    fdisk -s PATITION GIVE PARTITION SIZES IN BLOCKS
    fdisk -v GIVE FDISK VERSION

    just says that disk means /dev/hdb or the actual hard drive and that partition is the actual partition thats in the dev folder... umm yeah thank you again
    ~blitze

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    its small 'L' not one (1).
    remove GRUB from MBR too. boot up from Windows Installation CD, select 'repair' and execute 'fixmbr' command. Window will boot up on reboot.






    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hell, join me :)
    Posts
    41
    ok i ran the repair and typed in fixmbr it worked..
    how do i remove grub from the mbr? Shouldn't re writing it do that?

    It did say re writing was successful but it still will not boot.
    ~blitze

  7. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    fixmbr commad rewrites MBR. post the output of 'fdisk -l' command.





    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hell, join me :)
    Posts
    41
    Hello again
    First off.. when u told me to re write the mbr and to remove the grub boot loader it gave me an idea. Since it shouldn't be there i wondered why it was loading the grub not the first OS.

    WHen u fix a computer u gotta find out why ofcourse, and i did. Why was because it was loading my 3rd hard drive not the first and looking for the OS. With nothing to go on it would then turn to the grub. Now when i set it up to the first and tried it worked because it used the newly installed grub from fc5.

    Thank you for all of your assistance
    ~blitze

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •