Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Alright, I'm brand new to linux, but I want to give it a try as well as expand my computing knowlage beyond windows. Besides I'm getting sick of some of ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Newbie install problems

Alright, I'm brand new to linux, but I want to give it a try as well as expand my computing knowlage beyond windows. Besides I'm getting sick of some of the windows problems.

So I set out to change my XP system to a dual boot XP/Linux. Do a little research and settle on Fedora 6 as my linux distribution. Now to do the install...I'm going to go through the steps a I followed and hopefully someone with more linux experience can help me out.

I have 2 harddrives. A smaller (80gb) original drive that contains windows and very little free space, and a Larger 180gb drive later added as an expansion.

Step one resize the partition. I decide after doing some browsing to set up my secondary hard drive for linux. So I shrink the NTFS partition (I used gparted to do the resizing due to some recommendations I saw) on that drive down, and set up partitions like this: One 10gb unallocated at the start of the drive, about and 80gb NTFS in the middle, and the rest unallocated at the end. Did that based on some reccomendations to have your /boot at the start of the drive.