Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4
Results 31 to 40 of 40
hmm, what do you mean by accessing my bios?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #31
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    20

    hmm, what do you mean by accessing my bios?

  2. #32
    Linux Newbie zdawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    218
    When the box is booting press F1 or F<whatever>, you should be able to access the bios. Check the ide cable first.
    Me & Myself just ganged up on I....... Now We all have problems..and none of Us are speaking!
    bash-3.00$ uname -a
    SunOS sparky 5.11 OpenSolaris-swa sun4u sparc SUNW,Ultra-Enterprise

  3. #33
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    20
    ohhhh you mean the setup thingy, i can access that i already did, like so i could make my combuter boot from the cd-rom

  4. #34
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    20
    where is the ide cable?? i only had 4 classes of building computers, in 7th grade, im in 8th

  5. #35
    Linux Newbie zdawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    218
    It will say ide hdd on it, wide flat , there is one for cdrom, floppy, hdd. It should be plugged to primary.
    Me & Myself just ganged up on I....... Now We all have problems..and none of Us are speaking!
    bash-3.00$ uname -a
    SunOS sparky 5.11 OpenSolaris-swa sun4u sparc SUNW,Ultra-Enterprise

  6. #36
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    20
    i see it, its plugged in to all that

  7. #37
    Linux Newbie zdawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    218
    You could try changing the boot order in the bios back and make a boot disk (floppy) to begin the install.
    Me & Myself just ganged up on I....... Now We all have problems..and none of Us are speaking!
    bash-3.00$ uname -a
    SunOS sparky 5.11 OpenSolaris-swa sun4u sparc SUNW,Ultra-Enterprise

  8. #38
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    20
    already tried that

  9. #39
    Linux Newbie zdawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    218
    Well you're left with 2 possibilites here
    1. The hdd is done for.
    2. Your bios config is incorrect.
    Me & Myself just ganged up on I....... Now We all have problems..and none of Us are speaking!
    bash-3.00$ uname -a
    SunOS sparky 5.11 OpenSolaris-swa sun4u sparc SUNW,Ultra-Enterprise

  10. #40
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    20
    k thanks for help, i think my hdd is screwed

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •