Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 40
im a newbie to linux and i have a big problem! im trying to install a linux distribution on a slightyl old computer with no other operating system. Everytime i ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    20

    BIG INSTALLATION PROBLEM


    im a newbie to linux and i have a big problem!
    im trying to install a linux distribution on a slightyl old computer with no other operating system. Everytime i try to install, at somepoint it says failed to mount /dev/hda1/

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    52
    Are there any partitons on the hard drive already? What distro are you trying to install?

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie zdawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    218
    More info regarding system (cpu, ram , hdd) as well as distro please.
    Me & Myself just ganged up on I....... Now We all have problems..and none of Us are speaking!
    bash-3.00$ uname -a
    SunOS sparky 5.11 OpenSolaris-swa sun4u sparc SUNW,Ultra-Enterprise

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    20
    i got a pentium with mmx
    32MB ram
    and Western Digital 4-GB 2 Pltr Ultra ATA Hard Disk Drive

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    20
    problem happens on every distribution i tried, ark linux, college linux, etc etc etc

  7. #6
    Linux Newbie zdawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    218
    That's not very much ram. But there are distros that will run on that. Which distro are you trying to install?
    Me & Myself just ganged up on I....... Now We all have problems..and none of Us are speaking!
    bash-3.00$ uname -a
    SunOS sparky 5.11 OpenSolaris-swa sun4u sparc SUNW,Ultra-Enterprise

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    52
    Quote Originally Posted by markj
    Are there any partitons on the hard drive already?

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    20
    libranet-2.7-classic is the distro im tryin to install and i think that it automatically makes the partitions

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    52
    How far do you get with the install exactly? does it start then stop or is it stopping when you try and create the partitions?

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    20
    it makes the partitions but when it tries to mount them it fails

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •