Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi first off.. im fairly new to linux ive been using ubuntu dapper for a few months and im a big fan since ive been learning linux i want to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

gotta wipe, got a few ? about my reinstalls

Hi
    first off.. im fairly new to linux
    ive been using ubuntu dapper for a few months and im a big fan

since ive been learning linux i want to keep with it

a problem in windows is forcing me to wipe the drive and i have some questions about reinstalling linux to the drive

First off
    i will be reinstalling windows. my copy is xp pro.
    and i also plan to install more than one different distro of linux, tho i plan to use ubuntu the most
    should i go with dapper LTs or edgy?
    either way i plan to use 64bit versions. i hate having a 64bit chip and not being able to use it...

other distros i plan to use are as follows
    kubuntu
    xubuntu
    openSUSE (gnome and KDE)
    Slackware
    DSL (probably wont install it.. but its a BIG possibility)
    and others that pop up as time goes by.
    i know ill try free bsd eventually

anyways
    swap partitions, i read around places saying they can only be made so big, and that making more of them is better. also that they should be bigger than the physical memory by double.

is this fact?

and the swap partition will work for every distro i use, so i dont have to make more for every different distro i use.

is that also fact?

and last question has to do with bootloaders..
    will other distros try to load a different bootloader and make them fight, or try to install the same one over again and kill off the listing for other versions on the pc?

dont be too mean, i really dont have time to search around right now and im a super 3 or more OS newB

any advice would be amazing..
    feel free to just link posts you know of if you dont feel like typing
    thanks a whole bunch
    -j