Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23
Attempt 1 failed. I changed the empty D drive to be the master and put the Fedora C drive to be slave--however, disconnected during the Windows XP install. Got Windows ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    12

    Attempt 1 failed.

    I changed the empty D drive to be the master and put the Fedora C drive to be slave--however, disconnected during the Windows XP install.

    Got Windows installed . I reconnected the Fedora drive as slave after the install and ran the Fedora boot disk. I entered "Linux Rescue" and it just came back with a message Kernel Panic. I tried to 'su -' but it said command not found.

    I put in the Grub disk I made per the above link and ran

    grub> find /boot/grub/stage1

    and it just said file not found.

    I went into Windows and ran disk manager and D is connected with "unkown" partition types.

    Don't know what to do next other than I'm presently downloading Knoppix but I'm not sure how that is going to help me.

  2. #12
    Linux Enthusiast Opnosforatou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Vleuten, The Netherlands
    Posts
    552
    Okies you got your XP working..
    Now the other part. If you linux install is still empty;
    Do a full new install on you new linux disk.

    When using the grub boot disk
    ( if you have a linux swap partition first then use root (hd1,1)
    >root (hd1,0)
    >kernel /boot/vmlinux- (use tab to auto complete the line)
    >initrd /boot/initrd- (use tab to auto complete the line)
    > boot

    This will start your linux...
    ---[ MS09-99896 - Vulnerability in All MS Windows OS ; Using Windows Could Allow Remote Code Execution. ]---
    Hardware: Asus P4P800, 1GB, P4-3Ghz, Asus V9950, Maxtor ATA HD\'s, 3Com GBit lan, Audigy ZS Plat.

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by Opnosforatou
    Okies you got your XP working..
    Now the other part. If you linux install is still empty;
    Do a full new install on you new linux disk.
    I've spent days downloading and setting up stuff so I don't want to loose anything.

    When using the grub boot disk
    ( if you have a linux swap partition first then use root (hd1,1)
    >root (hd1,0)
    >kernel /boot/vmlinux- (use tab to auto complete the line)
    >initrd /boot/initrd- (use tab to auto complete the line)
    > boot

    This will start your linux...
    When I run root (hd1,0) I get the following message:

    Filesystem type is ext2fs, partition type 0x83

    Same thing if I do root (hd1,1)

    Then I'm stuck again.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Linux Enthusiast Opnosforatou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Vleuten, The Netherlands
    Posts
    552
    At what point do you get stuck ?
    The message about the filesystem is oke.
    ---[ MS09-99896 - Vulnerability in All MS Windows OS ; Using Windows Could Allow Remote Code Execution. ]---
    Hardware: Asus P4P800, 1GB, P4-3Ghz, Asus V9950, Maxtor ATA HD\'s, 3Com GBit lan, Audigy ZS Plat.

  6. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    12
    Oh, I thought that that was an error message.

    When I do the next command

    kernel /boot/vmlinux- and then use tab I get

    "Error 15: file not found."

    I now have a Knoppix CD. Can that help me in any way?

  7. #16
    Linux Enthusiast Opnosforatou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Vleuten, The Netherlands
    Posts
    552
    Quote Originally Posted by vbmark
    Oh, I thought that that was an error message.

    When I do the next command

    kernel /boot/vmlinux- and then use tab I get

    "Error 15: file not found."

    I now have a Knoppix CD. Can that help me in any way?
    On which of the partitions did you use as root partition ?

    Typing kernel /bo and then use the tab key to complete the last 2 letters : ot u know you have the right partition
    The error 15:file not found states that either it can't find the dir boot or the file itself.
    Either you are accessing the wrong partition , its because I gave the wrong name and it's : vmlinuz- like: vmlinuz-2.4.22-1.2174.nptl
    Dooh.

    ---[ MS09-99896 - Vulnerability in All MS Windows OS ; Using Windows Could Allow Remote Code Execution. ]---
    Hardware: Asus P4P800, 1GB, P4-3Ghz, Asus V9950, Maxtor ATA HD\'s, 3Com GBit lan, Audigy ZS Plat.

  8. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    12
    Doing Kernel /bo (tab) gives file not found.

    Doing Kernel /vmlinuz (tab) gives me vmlinuz-2.4.22-1.2188.nptl

    Running that gives me:
    [Linux-bzImage, setup=0x1400, size=0x12d2d1]

    Doing initrd /initrd (tab) gives initrd-2.4.22-1.2188.nptl.img (or something like that) and this returns:

    [Linux-initrd @ 0x1ffc400, 0x27aes bytes]

    Then I type boot and a buch of stuff goes by and stops on

    Kernel panic: No init found

  9. #18
    Linux Enthusiast Opnosforatou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Vleuten, The Netherlands
    Posts
    552
    Yikes. I've seen that before. Anything continues without the initrd ?
    If not. Try reinstalling Fedora. You got a working XP now.
    And since you haven't played with fedore yet, due to unable to boot. I would suggest to reinstall it in the existing linux partitions. Don't forget to format the partitions again. doing a 'upgrade' or ' reinstall' will not reinstall grub on the MBR.
    Due to some strange unexplained reason. Tried it couple of times myself and it didn't work.
    Sorry for the troubles so far.
    ---[ MS09-99896 - Vulnerability in All MS Windows OS ; Using Windows Could Allow Remote Code Execution. ]---
    Hardware: Asus P4P800, 1GB, P4-3Ghz, Asus V9950, Maxtor ATA HD\'s, 3Com GBit lan, Audigy ZS Plat.

  10. #19
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    12
    Okay, I'm in. I told Fedora to install but not to format the hard drive. This is both a good and bad thing. My data is saved BUT the Red Hat Network says that I have a bunch of stuff to install. So I try to install the stuff and it says that everything is already installed. Now the update icon is always flashing red but I can't do anything about it.

    I seem to be caught in a catch 22 here. How do I tell the updater to either reinstall everything or to forget about the stuff that's already installed?

    Should I start a new thread for this question?

    Thanks!

    (It's good to be in Linux again)

  11. #20
    Linux Enthusiast Opnosforatou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Vleuten, The Netherlands
    Posts
    552
    Reinstalling without formatting comes in quite handy if there is data on the disk that needs to be saved.
    I reinstalled a pc yesterday and had the same problem. I didn't know what was previously installed.
    To install the missing apps, you will need to find the rpm files in the RPM directory on one of the 3 fedora disks.
    I myself tried to use the Add/Remove application button under System Settings, but It screams that the apps are not installed and I need to install them first.
    After browsing the CD's I found the RPM's and reinstalled them using: rpm -Uvh *.rpm
    Another way to fix this is to use Synaptic.
    It can search for broken installs and reinstall them.
    To use Synaptic, first download apt and use apt to install Synaptic.
    Click here to download apt.
    After installing the rpm, as root, run the command [b] apt-get update[b]
    Then you run: [b]apt-get install synaptic[b]
    This will download and install synaptic.
    Since we downloaded it from the Freshmeat rpms, only the freshmeat repositories are included.
    Some of the repositories you want to include are:
    Livna.org
    dries.studentenweb.org/
    download.fedora.us/fedora/

    How do I add repositories:
    Start up Synaptic.
    At the top you see -> Preferences -> Repositories.
    Click to open a new window and make it full screen.
    Now to add the above mentioned repositories.

    Click on New
    Select from the dropdown: RPM
    Add: http://www.livena.org to URI
    Add: fedora/1/i386 to Distribution
    Add: stable to Section(s)
    (note: Clicking on OK will close the repository screen.)
    Do the same again only this time select rpm-src instead of rpm
    (U want to have the sources sometimes.... )


    Click on New
    Select from the dropdown: RPM
    Add: http://dries.studentenweb.org/ to URI
    Add: apt/fedora/fc1/i386 to Distribution
    Add: dries to Section(s)
    Do the same again only this time select rpm-src instead of rpm

    Click on New
    Select from the dropdown: RPM
    Add: http://download.fedora.us/fedora/ to URI
    Add: fedora/1/i386 to Distribution
    Add: os updates stable to Section(s)
    Do the same again only this time select rpm-src instead of rpm
    Now press OK when all are done.

    Now we have some nice repositories to get software and updates from.
    It's time to check and upgade and/or fix broken installs.
    CLick on Refresh to download the software, fix, etc, etc, lists from all repositores.
    After all is downloaded, click on the dropdown Show and select:
    Broken - To fix broken installations
    Upgrade - For all upradable and installed applications
    New in Repos. - All new apps in the repositories

    The rest shows it's self.
    Selcect what to instal or remove and click the apply button to download/upgrade/remove the selected features.

    Okies.... Hope this helps a bit.
    ---[ MS09-99896 - Vulnerability in All MS Windows OS ; Using Windows Could Allow Remote Code Execution. ]---
    Hardware: Asus P4P800, 1GB, P4-3Ghz, Asus V9950, Maxtor ATA HD\'s, 3Com GBit lan, Audigy ZS Plat.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •