Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Okay, I have been running Windows problem free for the last six months. However I have recently decided I would like to try Linux, so I ordered the Kubuntu Live-CD. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Argh, why can't Linux find my hard drive?

Okay, I have been running Windows problem free for the last six months. However I have recently decided I would like to try Linux, so I ordered the Kubuntu Live-CD. It boots up fine, but when I try to install it, it freezes at Step 5 (select disk). So I try installing with Ubuntu. It also fails to find my hard drive. So then I try Fedora Linux. This too fails. I then try doing the debian.exe installation method for Debian, and even that screws up when it gets to the hard drive part (EVEN THOUGH IT IS INSTALLING FROM THE SAME BLOODY HARD DRIVE!). I know the hard drive works because I have been running Windows on it. Do any of you guys have a clue on what is going on, this is driving me insane (get it?)!

Linux Enthusiast apoorv_khurasia's Avatar
    Hi dantheflyingman! Welcome to linuxforums.

Linux has some issues with certain hard-disks and most of them can be resolved. To proceed further we would need to know that motherboard specs (as in model and company name would be sufficient) and your hard disk specs (as in whether you are using SATA or other disks). Please post these details.
    "There is no sixth rule"
    --Rob Pike
    Registered Linux User: 400426 home page

Just Joined!
    Ah, I knew I left something out in the first post. My motherboard is an Asus a8v-mx, and the hard drive is a Seagate SATA II 80GB (I can't be more specific than that, I'm afraid). Thanks.

Quote Originally Posted by dantheflyingman
    Ah, I knew I left something out in the first post. My motherboard is an Asus a8v-mx, and the hard drive is a Seagate SATA II 80GB (I can't be more specific than that, I'm afraid). Thanks.