Find the answer to your Linux question:
i'm new to linux. i constantly got an error during installation that said: segmentation error: seems like memory is lost as installation crashes. i rebooted many times ( 5 + ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

mandrake 8.2

i'm new to linux. i constantly got an error during installation that said: segmentation error: seems like memory is lost as installation crashes.

i rebooted many times ( 5 + ) to retry doing the whole installation.

when I finally got lucky enough to get to the last stage of the installation, i chose my graphic driver and confirmed that i saw the penguin picture etc. then i got the same error again and the installation didn't exit normally.

lucky enough, when i rebooted after the error, i was able to choose linux from the bootloader and successfully ran mandrake for the first time.

now, i currently have some questions:

1) what causes that segmentation error?

2) what can i do to make my sound work?
    ==> i have an onboard sis 630 chipset (i get confused with all the different downloads, dunno what a freakin rpm is as well)

3) the system took me back to login again while i was busy exploring my new OS( a couple of times and i'm only using it 2 days now). is this linux's way of crashing (at least better than freezing and having to reset!)?

4) only some of the games work. others simply show an animatedhour glass and then nothing happens. why?

thanx

Linux User
    are you usign mandrake? The penguin makes me thing so, but I coul dbe wrong.

Anyhow - the crashing during installation is not good, you have no idea if the installation got all the files there intact - so the crashing now could be related to that.

I would check your hardware, see if something is not supported that would cause it to lock up during the installation like that.
    majorwoo

Quiet brain, or I\'ll stab you with a Q-tip.

Linux Enthusiast