Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hello all. First of all, please excuse me, I'm just starting to learn Linux and am not very computer savvy. I'm trying to install a dual boot (Ubuntu/Vista) on my ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question Dual boot/reformatting problem

Hello all. First of all, please excuse me, I'm just starting to learn Linux and am not very computer savvy. I'm trying to install a dual boot (Ubuntu/Vista) on my computer and I would like to be able to share files among the two OS's. I'm told Linux doesn't do so well with NTFS so I need to reformat the Windows partition to FAT32. However, I read somewhere that Windows won't allow a FAT32 partition bigger than 32GB. I would like my Windows partition to be bigger than that so what are my options? Is it possible to have part of the Windows partition FAT32 and part NTFS? And secondly how does one even change the Windows partition to FAT32? Thanks.

Just Joined!

Dual boot

Quote Originally Posted by lwpack
    Hello all. First of all, please excuse me, I'm just starting to learn Linux and am not very computer savvy. I'm trying to install a dual boot (Ubuntu/Vista) on my computer and I would like to be able to share files among the two OS's. I'm told Linux doesn't do so well with NTFS so I need to reformat the Windows partition to FAT32. However, I read somewhere that Windows won't allow a FAT32 partition bigger than 32GB. I would like my Windows partition to be bigger than that so what are my options? Is it possible to have part of the Windows partition FAT32 and part NTFS? And secondly how does one even change the Windows partition to FAT32? Thanks.
    First create one logical drive that will support