Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I have successfully installed Debian Etch on my MacBook, dual booting with OSX, with most features working properly. I have several questions, of course, since I am new to this ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Right-Clicking; MacBook

I have successfully installed Debian Etch on my MacBook, dual booting with OSX, with most features working properly.

I have several questions, of course, since I am new to this whole Linux thing, the chief one being: Is there any way to right-click?! I was able to do without right clicking for five days - most programs only use it as a convenience - but now I find I absolutely need it, for one of the main applications I wanted to use in Debian.

So what I would like to do is make it so I can hold down some key (the apple key, probably) to get right-clicks. Is there a way?

Other issues:

1. In command-line mode (pressing ctrl-alt-fn-F1), the display is fuzzy. I like using the command line full screen and would prefer it to be crisp and beautiful. Any ideas?

For the same reason, I would appreciate instructions on starting up with the shell and going into X & Gnome only when I say so.

2. When I sit inthe shell very long, the following appears:

hda: cdrom_pc_intr: The drive appears confused (ireason = 0x01). Trying to recover by ending request.

over and over and over...

3. When I use synaptic to update my packages, I get problems.

E: openbsd-inetd: subprocess post-installation script returned error exit status 1
    E: netbase: dependency problems - leaving unconfigured
    E: exim4-base: dependency problems - leaving unconfigured
    E: exim4-daemon-light: dependency problems - leaving unconfigured
    E: exim4: dependency problems - leaving unconfigured
    E: sun-java5-doc: subprocess post-installation script killed by signal (Interrupt)
    E: cupsys-bsd: dependency problems - leaving unconfigured