Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
OK, here's what I have: 2 hard drives hda hda1 boot 32Mb hda5 swap 512Mb hda6 / 30odd Mb hdb hdb1 boot 32Mb hdb5 / 10odd Mb LILO is on ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    1,305

    Dual boot correct setup?


    OK, here's what I have:

    2 hard drives

    hda
    hda1 boot 32Mb
    hda5 swap 512Mb
    hda6 / 30odd Mb

    hdb
    hdb1 boot 32Mb
    hdb5 / 10odd Mb

    LILO is on mbr of hda

    Slackware is on hda, Gentoo is on hdb.

    When I installed Gentoo it bunged the kernel, initrd, sys.map etc to /boot on hdb.

    I copied these to a subdirectory on hda /boot/gentoo and pointed to these when I fiddled with the lilo.conf file in Slackware.

    All worked fine until I recompiled the Gentoo kernel. I copied the files over and get an error about summat being too big when I select Gentoo from the LILO splash screen.

    Methinks I've made things too damn complicated But it was the only way I could get LILO to boot Gentoo. I can't see a way to get LILO to point to the Gentoo kernel on hdb as root is set at the top of the LILO conf file.

    What I want to do is for LILO on hda to kick in at boot and offer me Slackware or Gentoo. What's the best way to do that. Suggestions for Grub welcome as well.

    Ta.
    Lansbury's Lido

    thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    130
    I don't think there should be any problems with making LILO point to two kernels on different harddrives, if that's what you are trying to do.

    You can set separate "root" options in every "image" setting as far as I know.

    post your lilo.conf?

    (and if you get an error about something being to big, maybe the kernel compiled wrong? Happened to me once actually)

    /ooop

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    1,305
    Cheers oops, lilo.conf below. Methinks I've shafted the compilation though.

    # LILO configuration file
    # Start LILO global section
    append="hdd=ide-scsi"
    boot = /dev/hda
    prompt
    # VESA framebuffer console @ 1024x768x256
    vga = 773
    # End LILO global section
    # Linux bootable partition config begins
    image = /boot/vmlinuz
    root = /dev/hda6
    label = Slackware
    read-only # Non-UMSDOS filesystems should be mounted read-only for checking

    image=/boot/gentoo/kernel-2.4.20-gentoo-r6
    label=Gentoo
    root=/dev/hdb1
    initrd=/boot/gentoo/initrd-2.4.20-gentoo-r6
    append="root=/dev/hdb5 init=/linuxrc"


    # Linux bootable partition config ends
    [/code]
    Lansbury's Lido

    thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    1,305
    Hmm, just spotted an error meself :o
    Lansbury's Lido

    thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    130
    did that error resolv the whole deal?

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    1,305
    nope. Screen goes black at boot now.
    Lansbury's Lido

    thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •