Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17
something is wrong in naming scheme. could you boot up in rescue mode? if yes, execute 'fdisk -l' command and post output here....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729

    something is wrong in naming scheme. could you boot up in rescue mode?
    if yes, execute 'fdisk -l' command and post output here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    10
    OK finally had to make boot floppy to get fdisk -l

    Disk /dev/hda : 40.0 GB


    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/hda1 1 97 Linux Swap
    /dev/hda2 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/hda3 W95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/hda5 Linux
    /dev/hda6 Linux

    Hope this helps. thanks

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    10
    Devils_Casper any ideas??

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    place this harddisk back in desktop and check if GRUB throws error there too.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    10
    Programs works great on the Desktop, no errors at all. I originally installed win 2000 and then suse 10.1 on desktop. dual boot. both fire up on desktop with no problems. neither boot up on laptop. I have another hard drive w win 2000 only and it boots up fine on this laptop. Thanks

  7. #16
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    boot up from SuSe Installation CD, select rescue mode and exeucte 'fdisk -l' commad and post output here.
    you can execute fdisk -l command using any LiveCD too.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    10
    As per original post, I only have USB CD and bios does not support booting from USB, I have since bought a Floppy drive, even made a floppy for puppy 2 that is supposed to boot and then try to find puppy even on USB, That worked slightly, it found USB, found puppy, then halfway through couldn't find files it needed on puppy CD to finish loading. I may have to buy a CD drive for this laptop, but takes a special cable that is somewhat expensive, just trying to take the challenge and figure it out. I'm sure there are many out there with the same problem.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •