Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
I have a Dell L400 laptop with no floppy or cd-rom, very primitive, I am dual booting win 2000 prof and suse 10.1. I installed both programs on a Desktop ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    10

    Grub trying, but not correctly


    I have a Dell L400 laptop with no floppy or cd-rom, very primitive, I am dual booting win 2000 prof and suse 10.1. I installed both programs on a Desktop computer and then took my hardrive and placed into laptop. When I try to boot into Linux, Grub starts, lets me make a choice of Suse or Win, begins booting process and then I get this:

    Loading reiserfs
    resume device dev/hda1 not found (ignoring)
    waiting for device /dev/hda5 to appear.........not found __ exiting to /bin/sh
    $
    _______________________

    both booted fine on original desktop,

    boot/grub/stage1
    returned
    hd0,4 0x83

    I'm sure it is some simple issue that I'm just to novice to figure out.

    Thanks for your help

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    hi dmcfreedom !

    Welcome to the LinuxForums.

    BIOS of your Lappy is assigning different name to Harddisk. post the output of 'fdisk -l' command.





    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    10

    Thanks, but!

    I have the /bin/sh and the grub areas I can get into. when I try the fdisk -l at either place it does not recognize command. Sorry to be so much a newbie. If I can't get Suse to go any further, how do I get to command line?

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    2
    I aslo have L400 with same problem figured out a few thing you can't install on a different computer unless it has same hardware config. I did do using dell Cseries and Ubuntu and just recently using a live slax distro.
    If still need help email me.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Quote Originally Posted by dmcfreedom
    I have the /bin/sh and the grub areas I can get into. when I try the fdisk -l at either place it does not recognize command. Sorry to be so much a newbie. If I can't get Suse to go any further, how do I get to command line?
    execute this at grub> prompt
    Code:
    find /boot/grub/stage1
    post output here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    2
    Have better One , did this last night . If the you have the hardware , downloaded Kubuntu 7 beta {brand new} popped it in my desktop , disconnected my IDE harddrive {just to be safe} , put my L400 harddrive into a USB 2 portable drive case plugged it in to desktop , ran Kubuntu installed to HD via USB worked no problem Put drive back in to Dell L400 turned on and it works , woohoo ! this is the first I have ever seen read or done that is a way to install an OS to an L400 without the 10NRN cdrom cable and rom .
    have a good one

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    10

    posting

    grub > find /boot/grub/stage1
    (hd0,4)

    OK?

  8. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    grub > find /boot/grub/stage1
    (hd0,4)
    now execute this at grub> prompt
    Code:
    root (hd0,4)
    setup (hd0)
    quit
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    10
    I enter
    grub> root (hd0,4)
    filesystem type is reiserfs, partition type 0x83

    grub> setup (hd0)
    Checking if "/boot/grub/stage1" exists... yes
    Checking if "/boot/grub/stage2" exists... yes
    Checking if "/boot/grub/reiserfs_stage1_5" exists... yes
    running "embed /boot/grub/reiserfs_stage1_5 (hd0)"... 18 sectors are embedded.
    .
    succeeded
    Running "install /boot/grub/stage1 (hd0) (hd0)1+18 p (hd0,4)/boot/grub/stage2
    /boot/grub/menu.1st"... succeeded
    Done

    grub>

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    10
    Forgot to mention. Still doing the same thing it originally did. thanks

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •