Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, Linux newbie here, have a question about something I want to do. My friend got a new laptop and I talked him into giving me his old one (it's ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

reformat question

Hi, Linux newbie here, have a question about something I want to do.

My friend got a new laptop and I talked him into giving me his old one (it's an old slow pos) and I want to completely wipe the hard drive and install linux fresh (something small, maybe damn small linux or something). Anyhow, my question is, if I completely wipe the hard drive, will it mess up the boot sequence? Will I then not be able to boot from a CD if the hard drive is completely blank?

I'd like to remove all of windows and stuff so I'd really like to reformat and start fresh bt if it's gonna mess up the booting sequence or something then I can't do that.

Quote Originally Posted by PontiacGT
    Anyhow, my question is, if I completely wipe the hard drive, will it mess up the boot sequence? Will I then not be able to boot from a CD if the hard drive is completely blank?
    No problem there. The boot sequence is controlled by the BIOS, and is entirely independent of the hard drive.

Quote Originally Posted by PontiacGT
    I'd like to remove all of windows and stuff so I'd really like to reformat and start fresh bt if it's gonna mess up the booting sequence or something then I can't do that.
    Just pop in any Linux distribution CD and you will have the option of doing a clean install, thus whipping clean the hard drive.
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

-Bruce Lee

hi !