Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
well here's the story : i'm trying to setup mandrake on p3 450mhz 256 mb ram : 2 x 128 gforce2 & bla,bla,bla first i tried a cd setup (burned ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    61

    mandrake linux 10.0 setup terror :shock:


    well here's the story : i'm trying to setup mandrake on p3 450mhz 256 mb ram : 2 x 128 gforce2 & bla,bla,bla

    first i tried a cd setup (burned the iso's to cd then booted from cd1 and run setup) i got error about
    mandrake does not recognize my cdrom
    & it offered me to use a different setup method (ftp, hd, diskette??)

    well i switched the cdrom to LG x52 booted from it & entered the setup...
    after that step went ok i came to "install system" where i kept getting
    There was an error installiing packages .... go on anyway?
    i thote "maybe my cd is bad" went to win again copied the whole cd set to a fat32 partition on IDE 1:0 under the folder mandrake (the copy went ok) went back to boot from cd booted mandrake setup told it to get the setup files from the correct hd pointed the dir (it started the "loading to memory") & the setup begon again !

    now i get the same error as before
    There was an error installiing packages .... go on anyway?
    the first one by the way is bash...

    let me just point that i'm a newbie to linux so don't tell me somthing like
    you need to mount the memory kernel from bit xroing the hdd device & then xray to kde the mask output
    (go easy on me)

    i got 3 hdds on my system if that helps:
    IDE 0:0 (10 gb | empty | had recent killdisk in preperation for linux warm hands)
    IDE 0:1 (12 gb | NTFS | holds ms 2003 with its own MBR & active partition)
    IDE 1:0 (6 gb | FAT32 | currently hold mandrake 10.0 setup files & other sh*t)

    help, tnx.

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    130
    firstly of all...

    try "install system -v" or "install system --verbose"
    because it might give you a litlle more specific errors...

    (I don't know if theyll work since I don't use mandrake)

    if they do,
    post the output here and we'll have a look =)

    /ooop

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    61
    im sorry if this sounds too dum, but im new to linux!

    how can i invoke the setup procedure using -v (verbose)
    if i'm doing a cd boot which gets me stright into the visual setup screen (no cmd interface) ?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    61
    a little later i've returned to the package selection screen, unchecked all the packages & seleceted "truly minimal install (especially no urpmi)" still the same error

    There was an error installing packages:
    bash-2.05b-16mdk.i586
    Go on anyway?

  6. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    130
    Hmmm, are you sure there is nothing wrong with the installation files you downloaded?

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    61
    Quote Originally Posted by ooop
    Hmmm, are you sure there is nothing wrong with the installation files you downloaded?
    well you tell me : i've downloaded using BitTorrent - meaning it passed hashing check, i burned the iso - no error, then i copied the cd to the hdd - no error there too !

    no i don't think i have problem with my setup files

    what i do sure of is that morphy(laws) is demonstration his power again[/b]

  8. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    130
    hmh, have you partitioned your linux harddrive?
    because before installing any packages, you probably need to partition it to ext3....but maybe the autoinstaller does that for you, I am not sure...

    a "normal" linux set up looks like this

    1 ) an ext3 partition for / (which should be at least a few gigs)
    2 ) a swap partition so you can use swap (the type is actually called swap)
    3 ) optionally a partition that needn't be very big(50 Mb maybe) for your bootfiles (I'd use ext3 here to)
    4 ) optionally separate partitions for /home, /opt, /usr and so on

    the first two are the only ones you "need", but many people find it safer to have a /boot partition as well (#3). If you don't do any of the optional partitions, those directories will end up on the / partition (1).

    My tip is, check if your linux-partition is formatted (using either a LiveCD or a boot disk, or any linux-cdrom that you can boot and start a linux system from), and if it isn't, do some quick reading on how to smartly partition/format it.


    If it is formatted however, it gets a little trickier, because then I don't see why you get installation errors when booting from cd.
    No additional weird startup messages you would like to inform the board of ???


    Good Luck for now

    /ooop

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    61
    belive me i don't know what i've done right, but it worked !

    after i forcly reboot the system & booted from the cd once again i saw that the setup wizard created 3 partition on device hda (IDE 0:0)
    hda1, Type: Journalised FS : ext3, 5.4GB, mount point /
    hda5, Type: Linux Swap, 499MB
    hda6, Type: Journalised FS : ext3, 3.3GB, mount point /

    the changes i made are:

    in security administrator hq4ever [insted of hq4ever@myMailserver.com]

    format & mount the formaly wizard created partitions as '\' & '\usr'
    (when i tried to unmounth it wouldn't let me)

    change the cd drive to LG CRD-8522B (Not affected according to LG)

    i guess that when i used the mandrake setup it did created the partition but wouldn't format them (or something), anyway now i'm flying on linux !!!!

    my first time wowwwwwwww is that cool or what ?

    thnx for the help.

  10. #9
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    130
    coooongratulations dood.

    Welcome to the wonderful world of Linux Computing =)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •