Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 46
is WIndows Booting up?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #31
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729

    is WIndows Booting up?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  2. #32
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper
    is WIndows Booting up?
    Windoze boots fine. At one point in time, GRUB must have partially loaded cause it come up with Grub 1.5 and error 5, which if I looked it up properly, was a partition error. At that time Windoze wouldn't boot, I had to use a bootable disk and run, I think it was fdisk /mbr, or fdisk /fix? 'Cause windows wouldn't boot with the grub error, just stopped at that error each time on boot.

  3. #33
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Windows Harddisk is plugged in as Primary and Ubuntu disk as Secondary. in most cases, GRUB throws this error if you install it in MBR of Windows Harddisk. check this thread too.

    is it possible for you to SWAP harddisks?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  4. #34
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper
    Windows Harddisk is plugged in as Primary and Ubuntu disk as Secondary. in most cases, GRUB throws this error if you install it in MBR of Windows Harddisk. check this thread too.

    is it possible for you to SWAP harddisks?
    Yes I can try that. I don't have time to do it yet tonight, but will try tomorrow.
    I assume that I would have to run the grub-install again after that. I'm always playing around with something or other so I don't have a case on the computer, so it won't take too long. I think it's just the jumper for master/slave and I believe I need to swap the 40 pin plugs around too.

    Thanks for the info. I'll let you know how it goes.
    Norm

  5. #35
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper
    Windows Harddisk is plugged in as Primary and Ubuntu disk as Secondary. in most cases, GRUB throws this error if you install it in MBR of Windows Harddisk. check this thread too.

    is it possible for you to SWAP harddisks?
    Casper,
    Okay, I swapped the Master and Slave around, both the jumper plugs and cables and ran the grub-install and I got the same message back, as before:
    sudo grub-install /dev/hda gave me this:
    probing devices to guess BIOS drives. This may take a long time.
    Could not find device for /boot: Not found or not a block device.

    I tried to boot it, but it wouldn't boot (system not found or some such wording)

    I ran the fdisk list and got the following:
    Disk /dev/hda: 250.0 GB, 250059350016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 30401 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/hda1 23407 23677 2176807+ 83 Linux
    /dev/hda2 2 23406 188000662+ f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/hda3 23678 30401 54010530 83 Linux
    /dev/hda5 2 4462 35832951 c W95 FAT32 (LBA)
    /dev/hda6 4463 8924 35840983+ b W95 FAT32
    /dev/hda7 8925 15003 48829536 b W95 FAT32
    /dev/hda8 15004 16504 12056751 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/hda9 16505 16573 554211 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/hda10 16574 22773 49801468+ b W95 FAT32
    /dev/hda11 23390 23406 136521 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/hda12 23102 23372 2176776 83 Linux
    /dev/hda13 23373 23389 136521 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/hda14 * 22774 23083 2490043+ 83 Linux
    /dev/hda15 23084 23101 144553+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris

    Partition table entries are not in disk order

    Disk /dev/hdb: 163.9 GB, 163928604672 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19929 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/hdb1 * 1 5102 40981783+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/hdb2 5103 19929 119097877+ f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/hdb5 5103 8213 24989076 b W95 FAT32
    /dev/hdb6 8214 10750 20378421 b W95 FAT32
    /dev/hdb7 10751 14702 31744408+ b W95 FAT32
    /dev/hdb8 14703 15301 4811436 b W95 FAT32
    /dev/hdb9 15302 19929 37174378+ 7 HPFS/NTFS

    Disk /dev/sda: 250.0 GB, 250059349504 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 30401 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 2 6376 51207187+ f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/sda2 6377 12751 51207187+ c W95 FAT32 (LBA)
    /dev/sda3 12752 21112 67159732+ c W95 FAT32 (LBA)
    /dev/sda4 21113 30401 74613892+ c W95 FAT32 (LBA)
    /dev/sda5 2 6376 51207156 b W95 FAT32

  6. #36
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    post the contents of /boot/grub/menu.lst and /boot/grub/device.map files.

    how many Linux Distros have you installed? you have created 5 SWAP partitions. its a wastage of disk space. you could share single SWAP space (partition) in all distros.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #37
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper
    post the contents of /boot/grub/menu.lst and /boot/grub/device.map files.

    how many Linux Distros have you installed? you have created 5 SWAP partitions. its a wastage of disk space. you could share single SWAP space (partition) in all distros.
    Hi Casper,
    Okay, I started over from scratch, I reformated my drive and I got rid of the other distros and now have one root and 2 swap drives. I tried re-installing with the install disk and it hung up at the 386 install point, so I used the live CD and reinstalled with it and I believe that's why I ended up with 2 swap drives? Anyway here's the fdisk list again:
    Disk /dev/hda: 163.9 GB, 163928604672 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19929 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/hda1 * 1 5102 40981783+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/hda2 5103 19929 119097877+ f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/hda5 5103 8213 24989076 b W95 FAT32
    /dev/hda6 8214 10750 20378421 b W95 FAT32
    /dev/hda7 10751 14702 31744408+ b W95 FAT32
    /dev/hda8 14703 15301 4811436 b W95 FAT32
    /dev/hda9 15302 19929 37174378+ 7 HPFS/NTFS

    Disk /dev/hdb: 250.0 GB, 250059350016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 30401 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/hdb1 * 23783 30401 53167117+ 83 Linux
    /dev/hdb2 2 23782 191020882+ f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/hdb5 2 4462 35832951 c W95 FAT32 (LBA)
    /dev/hdb6 4463 8924 35840983+ b W95 FAT32
    /dev/hdb7 8925 15003 48829536 b W95 FAT32
    /dev/hdb8 15004 16896 15205491 b W95 FAT32
    /dev/hdb9 16897 23406 52291543+ b W95 FAT32
    /dev/hdb10 23407 23594 1510078+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/hdb11 23595 23782 1510078+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris

    Partition table entries are not in disk order

    Disk /dev/sda: 250.0 GB, 250059349504 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 30401 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 2 6376 51207187+ f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/sda2 6377 12751 51207187+ c W95 FAT32 (LBA)
    /dev/sda3 12752 21112 67159732+ c W95 FAT32 (LBA)
    /dev/sda4 21113 30401 74613892+ c W95 FAT32 (LBA)
    /dev/sda5 2 6376 51207156 b W95 FAT32

    Now for your last request on /boot/grub/device.map
    (fd0) /dev/fd0
    (hd0) /dev/hda
    (hd1) /dev/hdb
    (hd2) /dev/sda

    However, there is no /boot/grub/menu.lst file?

    Using the Live CD and going to Places > Computer, I see a few of my drives with the size of each and some have the labels I assigned to them with Windoze and there is one there called "Filesystem" , I'm assuming that this is the Linux that I installed? If I am correct there, there is no /boot/grub/menu.lst file.
    Thanks,
    Norm

  8. #38
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    you have to Mount 'root' partition of Ubuntu first.
    did you plug-in Ubuntu harddisk a Primary during installation? device.map file is listing Ubuntu Harddisk as Secondary.
    unplug all Harddisks and plug-in Ubuntu Harddisk only, as Primary Master.
    delete both swap partitions and re-install Ubuntu. its very easy to setup dual boot after installation.






    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #39
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper
    you have to Mount 'root' partition of Ubuntu first.
    did you plug-in Ubuntu harddisk a Primary during installation? device.map file listing Ubuntu Harddisk as Secondary.
    unplug all Harddisks and plug-in Ubuntu Harddisk only, as Primary Master.
    delete both swap partitions and re-install Ubuntu. its very easy to setup dual boot after installation.






    Casper
    Casper,
    Okay, let's see if I got this right. I'll delete the swap partitions and reformat the ext3 partition so I'm starting out from scratch, then I'll shutdown and set up the drive that the Linux partition is on, as Master, and disconnect the other drive, then I'll run the live CD and do an install of Ubuntu again.
    Sound right?

  10. #40
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    the Linux partition is on, as Master, and disconnect the other drive, then I'll run the live CD and do an install of Ubuntu again.
    Sound right?
    yes. Ubuntu installer will install GRUB in MBR of the disk. we will plug-in Windows disk as secondary after installation.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •