Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 46
This post may seem a little redundant to the old "pros", but I'm a real newbie and would like a bit of help, if someone could spare some time? My ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    25

    GRUB/boot loader/Ubuntu/Windows/


    This post may seem a little redundant to the old "pros", but I'm a real newbie and would like a bit of help, if someone could spare some time?
    My problem is I loaded Ubuntu onto a computer with two hard drives hd0 is WindozeXP and hd1 is Ubuntu. I've tried several different boot loaders but I can't get Ubuntu to run. From searching and reading articles, I believe my problem is with GRUB, but I am unsure where to go next?
    Any ideas?
    Thanks in advance.
    Norm

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    hi spruce_capital,

    Welcome to the LinuxForums.

    where did yoy install GRUB?
    unplug Ubuntu Harddisk. does Windows boot up?





    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    25

    GRUB/boot loader/Ubuntu/Windows

    Hi devils_casper

    I seems I spoke tooo soon on my Post.

    I did a little more searching and read some more, and then I took the Ubuntu install CD and tried reloading to the same drive, and for some unknown reason, it worked as it was supposed to this time?

    And I guess GRUB is really what you call a boot loader...I thought that I needed something like OSL2000 or such, but GRUB does that.

    I do thank you for your reply. I'm an old phart, retired after having done a lot of communications type stuff, with a fair amount of Windoze applications over the years, so it'll be a bit before I get my head around Linux.

    Now to figure out how to get a compiler working???

    Thanks again!

  4. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Now to figure out how to get a compiler working???
    C compiler is a part of 'build-essential' package and its not installed by default.
    open terminal and execute this
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install build-essential





    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    25
    Hi Casper,
    Thanks for the info, but......
    That sounded easy enough, but by the sounds of it, I don't have what it's looking for on the computer? Here's the output from the command

    sudo apt-get install build-essential
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependancy tree... Done
    E: Couldn't find package build-essential

    Norm

  6. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    is your machine connected to internet? 'build-essential' package is available in Installation CD too.
    insert Installation CD and execute this
    Code:
    sudo apt-cdrom add
    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get install build-essential




    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper
    is your machine connected to internet? 'build-essential' package is available in Installation CD too.
    insert Installation CD and execute this
    Code:
    sudo apt-cdrom add
    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get install build-essential
    Casper
    My guess from the info that I got back, using your commands, is that my CDrom is corrupt..or what I downloaded was corrupt? Am I correct? Thks Norm

    sudo apt-get install build-essential
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree... Done
    Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
    requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
    distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
    or been moved out of Incoming.

    Since you only requested a single operation it is extremely likely that
    the package is simply not installable and a bug report against
    that package should be filed.
    The following information may help to resolve the situation:

    The following packages have unmet dependencies:
    build-essential: Depends: libc6-dev but it is not going to be installed or
    libc-dev
    Depends: g++ (>= 4:4.0) but it is not going to be installed
    E: Broken packages

  8. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    post the output of 'uname -a' command.
    are installed version and installation CD version same?






    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper
    post the output of 'uname -a' command.
    are installed version and installation CD version same?






    Casper
    I run uname -a and this is what came back:
    When I downloaded the iso file, I believe it was Ubuntu 6.06?

    Linux kids 2.6.15-28-386 #1 PREEMPT Thu Feb 1 15:51:56 UTC 2007 i686 GNU/Linux

    I hope this was what you were looking for?
    Norm

  10. #10
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Linux kids 2.6.15-28-386 #1 PREEMPT Thu Feb 1 15:51:56 UTC 2007 i686 GNU/Linux
    this is Ubuntu 6.06 only. did you install Ubuntu from same installation CD?
    boot up from CD and execute 'uname -a'. compare it with the output of installed version.
    do you have internet connection?





    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •