Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 16 of 16
Originally Posted by devils_casper hmmm... if you have Floppy Drive, try Windows 98 Bootable floppy. download it from here , boot up from it and execute 'fdisk /mbr'. No floppy ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    98

    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper
    hmmm... if you have Floppy Drive, try Windows 98 Bootable floppy. download it from here, boot up from it and execute 'fdisk /mbr'.
    No floppy drive. But I do have access to my mom's Windows XP reinstallation cd. Would that work?

  2. #12
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    yes that will work. execute 'fixmbr' command after selection 'repair'.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    98
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper
    yes that will work. execute 'fixmbr' command after selection 'repair'.
    After I select repair mode it asks for an administrator password. Where would I find this? On the machine where XP is installed?

  4. #14
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    did you try pressing Enter key? if it doesn't accept that, you have to wait for Vista Installation DVD.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    98
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper
    did you try pressing Enter key? if it doesn't accept that, you have to wait for Vista Installation DVD.
    Miraculously, this morning when I tried one last time to boot, windows jumped into some sort of scan that it hadn't done before, then it rebooted itself into vista no problem. I don't get what happened, but I'm not complaining. Thanks again for the help.

  6. #16
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Wow (its Vista). i agree that Vista behaves mysteriously sometimes. i am trying to figure out its Boot Loader working.
    so i assume that Dual Boot is working perfectly in your machine now.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •