Find the answer to your Linux question:
I will try to keep this short... I am totally new to Linux and am trying to switch over. Here is my setup: I have 4 harddrives, two IDE two ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Problems Installing...

I will try to keep this short... I am totally new to Linux and am trying to switch over. Here is my setup:

I have 4 harddrives, two IDE two SATA, all 200gig+...I have 2 gigs of ram...I have vista ultimate installed on an NTFS formatted primary IDE, then two of the other drives are NTFS for windows storage... FINALLY I had my fourth hdd... I deleted the formatting so that it was unallocated... and popped in my Ubuntu disc I downloaded/burned. Installed it on the fourth drive (i think it formatted it in ext3?) and restarted.

Now when GRUB starts, it gets a little ways in and dies on an "ERROR 25"... I can do nothing from there... no windows or Linux. I made a SUPER GRUB disc, which I can get into and start up my Vista, but not Ubuntu. The tools in there didnt seem to help fix the booting error either... although I didn't truly know what I was doing.

I have tried re-installing several times, with different options, I have booted into the LIVE CD and tried going into TERMINAL and following tutorials online...

Im getting close to giving up... CAN SOMEONE HELP ME!?

Thank you so much...in advance.

Ben
    (sorry if i didnt include needed info,let me knwo and I will supply)

oh yeah, and reinstalling vista isnt an option... I run a business and I cant be down and reinstalling apps for a day.

hi Ben,

Welcome to the LinuxForums.

Linux Harddisk must be plugged in as Primary and GRUB must be installed in the MBR of it. GRUB is installed in the MBR of Windows Harddisk right now.
    i suggest you to remove GRUB from Windows Harddisk, SWAP Windows Harddisk with Ubuntu Harddisk and reinstall Ubuntu.