Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi... im new to linux.. i just installed redhat linux 7.0 on a P III 128 mb ram 40 gb hard disk machine. It rests on a dedicated partition ext2 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Newbie Help: only 64Mb of 128Mb memory detected by linux

Hi... im new to linux.. i just installed redhat linux 7.0 on a P III 128 mb ram 40 gb hard disk machine. It rests on a dedicated partition ext2 formatted and runs x windows. but whenever i look under process management in kde i find only 64 mb. the /etc/meminfo fiole also says only 64 mb physical memory.
    i have 2 SDRAM chips each of 64 MB. I parallel boot nder windows 200 server and here all 128 mb is detected. my kernel version is 2.2.1-16 on i686 ( or so i think!!).

i think this is why my linux os is very sluggish and takes long to process, even hangs up...

please help me out...

Linux Guru
    2.2.1? That can't be... please check again. (Hint: run uname -r)

Just Joined!

Sorry.. my mistake..

sorry.. the kernel version is 2.2.16-22 on i686 i hope this is correct. Is this a common problem, all of memory not being detected. i use an intel 810 mother board and all my other devices are working including onborad sound and display. Windows has no problem seeing this memory .. even bios tests shows 128 mb.. so im sure that my memory is working fine.

Linux Guru
    It is a known problem, as far as I know, but I wouldn't think it would show up on such recent machines. Try booting the kernel with "mem=128M" as an extra parameter. Or try upgrading to a 2.4 kernel (which you should do anyway...) from http://www.kernel.org/.

Just Joined!
    this may seem real dumb of me but...

i have tried the mem=128M option in LiLO.conf

doesnt seem to work

i visited kernels.org and all i find are patches. is that what i need or should i download the whole kernel
    if so how do i find the whole kernel
    and how do i update my kernel..