Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi Everyone I have been using this forum for a few months now and like many people I wanted to access the net through ADSL. Unfortunately my DSL modem (Inetl ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Linux User

ADSL on Linux Success

Hi Everyone

I have been using this forum for a few months now and like many people I wanted to access the net through ADSL. Unfortunately my DSL modem (Inetl Anypoint DSL 3240) was not linux compatible or at least I couldn't work out how to get it up and running.

I dual boot with XP and use that for the net.

However, I have just bought a DrayTek Vigor2200usb router/switch which plugs into my modem via USB and the plugs into my hub via an ethernet cable. I did need to upload the modem drivers to the router through XP but I am now on the net in Linux.

I bought it @ dslwarehouse.co.uk or something like that for £112.

Very easy to set up. Just thought I'd post this as a simple answer to adsl with Linux for those others of you who just can't get it working. Unfortunately I will be back to XP on Monday coz I'm gonna install this in the office. But I will be getting one for myself.

Cheers

Kris
    No trees were harmed during the creation of this message. Its made from a blend of elephant tusk and dolphin meat.

Linux Guru
    Now that's an interesting solution. I'd never imagine that there would be USB modem capable routers. I wonder how it works.

Linux User

Dunno

Dunno how it works technically but it has two usb ports and a four port ethernet switch / router. With uplink capability on one rj45 port.

It has an upgradable ROM chipset which you must upload your driver and synchronisation/config file to via TFTP. through a wizard.