Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hello, I am new to linux installation. I tried to install the SUSE linux9.3 on my new PC with ASUS p5VDCMX mother board. The initial sysmtoms like unable to recognise ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

SUSE 9.3 install failed on ASUS motherboard

Hello,

I am new to linux installation. I tried to install the SUSE linux9.3 on my new PC with ASUS p5VDCMX mother board. The initial sysmtoms like unable to recognise the CD_ROM came through & I loaded the ide-generic module. It went ahead with the installation. I performed the steps recommended in the below url http://www.cse.iitb.ac.in/~mohitz/tech/suse.php. I added the ide-generic & did mkinitrd with no parameters. I do not know what exactly the parameters that I have to pass. I gave the path to mkinitrd as /. The mkinitrd went through fine. But after this when I rebooted linux it just failed to come up. It is unable to recognise the root file system which I had given it during the installation. Any help in this regard would be great.

Thanks,
    Rajeev.
    Last edited by devils casper; 04-19-2007 at 10:29 AM. Reason: posts moved and started a new thread

Just Joined!
    Hi,

Have u updated the grub configuration file with the new initrd file.
    mkinitrd will create a new initrd file which contains the driver for your hard disks.

--Regards,
    rajesh

Just Joined!
    Hello Rajesh,

Can you kindly elobrate the procedure to update the grub & configuring with the mkinitrd command. Or can you suggest me a better version of linux which can overcome the mother board problem. I tried to flash ubuntu 6.01.1, but it does not recognise the root file system.

-thanks,
    Rajeev

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Try installing openSuSE 10.2 and see what happens
    Linux is like a Teepee, No Windows, No Gates, Only Apache Inside!
    Arch Linux
    Linux user #442041

Just Joined!