Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 4 of 4
Hey, I've set up my GRUB Menu how I would like it, except for one thing. I had windows installed first, and i frequently need to use Windows Safe Mode ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2

    Grub


    Hey, I've set up my GRUB Menu how I would like it, except for one thing.
    I had windows installed first, and i frequently need to use Windows Safe Mode for certain things. I had my windows boot.ini file set for a norma boot or a safe mode boot.
    After i have installed my linux (Kubuntu) and i set up the grub how I want it (so yes im not completely ignorant, you dont need to explain to me how to edit the grub menu) i realized i wanted to change something. After you click the Windows XP entry from GRUB, it then loads the boot.ini, therefore, giving me the windows XP or windows XP safe mode selection. My question being, is there a way to add Windows XP Safe Mode to the GRUB menu? so i can then just use the original windows boot.ini?
    Thanks for any help.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    its not possible to add a separate entry for Windows Safe Mode in GRUB.
    GRUB uses chainloading and transfer control to 'Dos Compat' on selecting Windows title in its Menu. Dos Compat parse different options specified in boot.ini file.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2
    I see. Thanks for the information, I guess i'll just use my two selection screens =(

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    did you try to hitting F8 key after select Windows title in GRUB Menu?
    F8 key forces Windows to boot up in Safe Mode.

    EDIT: select normal Windows title in 'Windows Boot Loader' and hit F8 key. does windows boot up in Safe Mode?
    Last edited by devils casper; 04-21-2007 at 06:28 PM.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •