Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
My root file system is showing 99%. I saw the files and found a file called kcore in the /proc directory is occupying lot of space. What could I do ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    17

    Root file system is 99%


    My root file system is showing 99%. I saw the files and found a file called kcore in the /proc directory is occupying lot of space. What could I do ?

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,296
    You need about 5 - 7 GB to install a big distro like SUSE or whatever. Buy a new hard disk or install a smaller distro if you are limited on file space.

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Posts
    116
    Quote Originally Posted by variant
    You need about 5 - 7 GB to install a big distro like SUSE or whatever. Buy a new hard disk or install a smaller distro if you are limited on file space.

    but the complaint is about a special file "kcore" occupying lot of space under /proc FS. And *As Far as I know" /proc is a special FS which does NOT depend on HDD's Size. Please CORRECT Me If I'm wrong.

    shunraj, what's your RAM ans SWAP size btw? Can you please give us more LIGHT on ur Partitioning Info and RAM Size?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,296
    Exactly.. thats why I ignored what he said abotu the file. He is probably just running out of space.. perhaps too strict with partitioning for "/"

    shunraj. please post the output of "df -h"

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    17
    /dev/cciss/c0p3 3.9G 3.6G 67M 99% /
    /dev/cciss/c0p1 97M 42M 51M 46% /boot
    none 1.5G 0 1.5G 0% /dev/shm
    /dev/cciss/c0p5 20G 4.2G 15G 23% /appl

    Normally I am using my all datas and package in the /appl mount only. There is nothing in the / fs.

    Regards,

    Raj

  7. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Posts
    116
    Quote Originally Posted by shunraj
    /dev/cciss/c0p3 3.9G 3.6G 67M 99% /
    /dev/cciss/c0p1 97M 42M 51M 46% /boot
    none 1.5G 0 1.5G 0% /dev/shm
    /dev/cciss/c0p5 20G 4.2G 15G 23% /appl

    Normally I am using my all datas and package in the /appl mount only. There is nothing in the / fs.

    Regards,

    Raj
    You are running OUT of disc space... time to secure ur data and allocate more disk space for linux
    NEVER stop/pause Journey of Learning -Travelling Soldier ( Me )

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •