Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Currently I have openSuse on my second hard drive. I never used it. I want to put Ubuntu on their instead. How do I get rid of opensuse? Thanks....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Switching

Currently I have openSuse on my second hard drive. I never used it. I want to put Ubuntu on their instead. How do I get rid of opensuse?

Thanks.

oz
    forum.guy
    You can install the distro of your choice right over opensuse using the same partitions.
    oz

Just Joined!
    When I press F2 or F12 I get the opensuse screen where you have to type camands. I do not know what to type. I want to get rid of open suse so I can get ubuntu

Sorry, total newb here.

oz
    forum.guy
    You don't have to remove opensuse before installing the new distro.

Just make sure your machine can boot from CD/DVD, put the new distro disk into the drive, reboot, then install the new distro using the same partitions that held opensuse. The new distro will format the opensuse partitions before installing the new distro.
    oz

Just Joined!
    OK, my BIOS was set up to boot on HD so I switched it to disk. I got the ubuntu install screen but when I click install I get an error after is loads.

[######] Buffer I/0 error on device fd0, logical block 0
    ## are actual numbers

I used the first method here to burn the ISO image.

I used both disks the 64bit AMD and Intel computers and the Standard personal computer. Which one should I use?
    http://img252.imageshack.us/img252/9703/deletets2.gif

Thank you very much for your help.

oz
    forum.guy
    I don't know anything about that howto, but here's another HowTo that has worked for many members here:

http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/ins...nstall-cd.html

I personally recommend using 32bit vs 64bit, but it's your choice:

http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/lin...bit-linux.html
    oz

Just Joined!