Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi everyone! I'm a completely newbie in linux. In fact I didn't even start linux at all. I have recently cleaned up my computer, made several partitions and reserved one ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

installing linux in a partition

Hi everyone!
    I'm a completely newbie in linux. In fact I didn't even start linux at all.
    I have recently cleaned up my computer, made several partitions and reserved one for linux (my other os is windows xp) since I want to switch to linux at some point but I find it too daring to do it right now since I've been a windows user since win95 and I'm using tons of programs.
    Questions:
    1- I heard it is not very wise to install linux after windows, even though if they are on separate partitions. And that linux should be installed first. If this is right it's going to become a pain in the ass as I re-installed every program I use in windows.
    2- What would be the minimum size of a partition to start with linux? Mine is 6 GB, will that do for a start? Should I add some more space?

Thanks a lot

Just Joined!
    you have your information a bit backwards on the first part. You want to install Windows first, then Linux. The reason being is that Windows uses what's called the MBR (Master Boot Record) on the hard disk, which uses just strictly for Windows. Installing Linux after Windows will allow you to write a bootloader (basically a list of OS's to boot from) over the MBR allowing you to go into either Windows or Linux.