Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
This is my second linux install ever, first one that I am doing for my personal use. Decided to choose Fedora Core 6. PC I am using is a Compaq ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    7

    monitor/video card compatibility


    This is my second linux install ever, first one that I am doing for my personal use. Decided to choose Fedora Core 6.

    PC I am using is a Compaq D51S which is a P4 2.4ghz 256ghz device running an on board video card: Intel Extreme Graphics (integrated with Intel 845G chipset)

    Montior I am using is a Westinghouse 32" TV/LCD screen witha VGA input. running 800x600 resolution

    I first installed windows XP pro on the hard drive and everytinhg loaded fine. screen looked good. I had to update a few NIC card drivers, and saw a few graphics and video chip set drivers so i updated those as well. than i popped in the FC6 disk and began the install. everything went through fine, no errors at all

    I can load the CLI with no problem, but when i type STARTX the screen flashes a few times an comes up with an error similar to:
    could not start x server
    screens found but none that will work
    or
    no screens found on card 0
    no screens found on monitor 0

    i am not home so I do not have the exact error message

    I read a few forums last nite and changed the video driver to vesa, and added in a device "screen" section to the /etc/X11/x11org.conf file.

    I am still not able to get this to load.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks
    josh

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Hi beemer832,

    did you try executing 'system-config-display' command? select Generic Monitor from Monitors List.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    7
    i did that as well, and it gave me the same exact error. enver came up with any monitors to choose from. again I am going on memory here and this is the first time ive ever used/configured linux so I am learning as i go ....

    josh

  4. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    this is a working xorg.conf file.
    Code:
    Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "single head configuration"
        Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
        InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier  "Keyboard0"
        Driver      "kbd"
        Option        "XkbModel" "pc105"
        Option        "XkbLayout" "us"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
        Identifier   "Monitor0"
        ModelName    "Monitor xyz"
        HorizSync    30.0 - 71.0
        VertRefresh  50.0 - 160.0
        Option        "dpms"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
        Identifier  "Videocard0"
        Driver      "vesa"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier "Screen0"
        Device     "Videocard0"
        Monitor    "Monitor0"
        DefaultDepth     24
        SubSection "Display"
            Viewport   0 0
            Depth     24
            Modes    "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1280x800" "1152x864" "1152x768" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
    EndSection
    set correct HorizSync, VertRefresh rates and remove unsupported Modes ( Reslutions ). save file and execute startx.
    in case it doesn't work, execute sytem-config-display command again.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    7
    ok thanks so much!! I will check this configuration tonight. I wasn't sure if i need to downlaod new driver for my chipset or maybe the monitor isnt supported?....

    I am so used to the Microsoft Windows enviornment, i think I am brainwashed ...

    Ill let you know how it turns out

    josh

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    7
    tried that config. after typing startx i get:
    fatal IO error 104 x windows could not start
    no screens found

  7. #7
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    post the output of 'lspci' command.
    Code:
    lspci
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    7

    pc blew up

    well I will not be worrying about this for some time, the PC i just bought on Ebay which i was running blew up this morning. power supply crapped out, sparks smoke and all ... to say the least i am not too happy. And now this great ebay seller isnt responding... j@ck@ss...


    josh

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •