Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
Hello. Its been along time since Ive been on the forums and needed help but Ive come to a halt and cant figure this out. I usally play with it ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    38

    booting suse and fedora on one HD


    Hello. Its been along time since Ive been on the forums and needed help but Ive come to a halt and cant figure this out. I usally play with it over and over again untill i figure it out but im on my 6th reinstalled copy of suse because of the prior messups ive done trying to get this to work so Ive decided to ask the experts

    Heres the Problem


    I have Suse installed on a external 500 Gig Harddrive on a 120 gig partition. Everything is running fine no errors. I have installed fedora core 5 on another 120 gig partition on the same 500 gig hard drive and i selected to not install any boot loader for fedora. I want to use GRUB (from suse) to also have fedora in the list. Since installing fedora i havnt been able to access it. I know I can do this in the boot/grub/menu.lst doc but im not sure what to add so that i can boot to fedora. Ive tried a couple things but nothing works. Any help will be very appreciated. Thanks

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    boot up SuSe and mount Fedora's / (root) ( or boot, if you have created ) partition. note down exact filename of vmliuz and initrd files in /boot folder/partition of Fedora.

    open /boot/grub/menu.lst file of SuSe and add this code
    Code:
    title Fedora Core 5
    root (hdx,y)
    kernel /boot/<vmlinuz_filename> root=<Fedora's root partiton> ro quiet rhgb
    initrd  /boot/<initrd_filename>
    replace x, y with correct disk number and root partition number.
    save file and reboot.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    38
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper View Post
    boot up SuSe and mount Fedora's / (root) ( or boot, if you have created ) partition. note down exact filename of vmliuz and initrd files in /boot folder/partition of Fedora.

    open /boot/grub/menu.lst file of SuSe and add this code
    Code:
    title Fedora Core 5
    root (hdx,y)
    kernel /boot/<vmlinuz_filename> root=<Fedora's root partiton> ro quiet rhgb
    initrd  /boot/<initrd_filename>
    replace x, y with correct disk number and root partition number.
    save file and reboot.

    Ok this got me a little further but couple more errors.

    here is what my boot line for fedora is.

    root (hd0,4)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.15-1..2054_FC5smp ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet
    initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.15-1.2054_FC5smp.img

    it acts like its booting up then hardlocks. This is what it says


    Booting command-list

    root (hd0,4)
    Filesystem type is ext2fs, partitoin type 0x83
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.15-1..2054_FC5smp ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet
    [linux-bzImage, setup=0x1e00, size=0x17c0ac]
    initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.15-1.2054_FC5smp.img
    [Linux-initrd @ 0x1fef6000, 0xf98d2 bytes]

    Uncompressing Linux... Ok, booting the kernel.
    PCI: BIOS BUG #81[00000000] found
    Red Hat nash version 5.0.32 starting
    Unable to access resume device (/dev/sdb1)
    mount: could not find filesystem '/dev/root'
    setuproot: moving /dev failed: No such file or directory
    setuproot: error mounting /proc: No such file or directory
    setuproot: error mounting /sys: No such file or directory
    switchroot: mount failed: No such file or directory
    Kernel panic - not syncing: Attempted to kill init!



    Im not sure if this makes a differnece but when installing fedora and selecting partitions I didnt use any volume groups or anything. I just set a ext3 mounting / to 20 gigs a swap to 1920 and a /home to 100 gigs. should i have kept the volume grouping?

  4. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    post the contents of Fedora's /etc/fstab file and output of 'fdisk -l' command.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    38
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper View Post
    post the contents of Fedora's /etc/fstab file and output of 'fdisk -l' command.

    ok fstab=


    Code:
    LABEL=/                 /                       ext3    defaults        1 1
    devpts                  /dev/pts                devpts  gid=5,mode=620  0 0
    tmpfs                   /dev/shm                tmpfs   defaults        0 0
    LABEL=/home             /home                   ext3    defaults        1 2
    proc                    /proc                   proc    defaults        0 0
    sysfs                   /sys                    sysfs   defaults        0 0
    /dev/sdb1               swap                    swap    defaults        0 0
    LABEL=SWAP-sdb7         swap                    swap    defaults        0 0

    and fdisk -l =
    Code:
    linux-1y50:~ # fdisk -l
    
    Disk /dev/sda: 80.0 GB, 80026361856 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9729 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sda1   *           1        8367    67207896    7  HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda2            8368        9598     9887976    c  W95 FAT32 (LBA)
    /dev/sda3            9599        9729     1052226   d7  Unknown
    
    Disk /dev/sdb: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60801 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sdb1               1         262     2104483+  82  Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/sdb2   *         263        2873    20972857+  83  Linux
    /dev/sdb3            2874       15298    99803812+  83  Linux
    /dev/sdb4           15299       60801   365502847+   5  Extended
    /dev/sdb5           15299       17848    20482843+  83  Linux
    /dev/sdb6           17849       30596   102398278+  83  Linux
    /dev/sdb7           30597       30841     1967931   82  Linux swap / Solaris
    Thanks for all your help man.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    according to output of fdisk -l, root line should be root(hd1,4).
    Code:
    title Fedora Core 5
    root (hd1,4)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.15-1..2054_FC5smp ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet
    initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.15-1.2054_FC5smp.img
    in case it doesn't work, boot up SuSe and post the output of 'df -h' command here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    38
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper View Post
    according to output of fdisk -l, root line should be root(hd1,4).
    Code:
    title Fedora Core 5
    root (hd1,4)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.15-1..2054_FC5smp ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet
    initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.15-1.2054_FC5smp.img
    in case it doesn't work, boot up SuSe and post the output of 'df -h' command here.
    yeh it seems it should be disk 1 but for some reason i have to flip all of them around.
    I used this post to figure that out just to boot to SUSE.

    Installing SuSE on External USB Drive - openSUSE

    I switched it around just to be sure and it says.
    Code:
    root (hd1,4)
    
    Error 22: no such partition
    here is the code for df -h
    Code:
    linux-1y50:~ # df -h
    Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/sdb2              21G  8.6G   12G  43% /
    udev                  474M  144K  474M   1% /dev
    /dev/sdb3              96G   33M   96G   1% /home
    /dev/sda1              65G   12G   53G  18% /windows/C
    /dev/sda2             9.5G  8.1G  1.4G  86% /windows/D
    /dev/sdb5              19G  5.1G   13G  29% /media/usbdisk

  8. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Fedora uses Labels instead of Partition numbers. during installation, Fedora's installer detected External as Secondary disk and Labeled partitions according to that only.
    When you select External disk as First boot device in BIOS, it becomes Primary and Internal Disk becomes secondary. GRUB fails to find Labeled partition in Secondary disk.


    mount Fedora Partition in SuSe and edit /etc/fstab file
    Code:
    /dev/sda5                 /                       ext3    defaults        1 1
    devpts                  /dev/pts                devpts  gid=5,mode=620  0 0
    tmpfs                   /dev/shm                tmpfs   defaults        0 0
    /dev/sda6             /home                   ext3    defaults        1 2
    proc                    /proc                   proc    defaults        0 0
    sysfs                   /sys                    sysfs   defaults        0 0
    /dev/sdb1               swap                    swap    defaults        0 0
    delete last SWAP line.

    edit menu.lst file of SuSe.
    Code:
    title Fedora Core 5
    root (hd0,4)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.15-1.2054_FC5smp ro root=/dev/sda5 rhgb quiet
    initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.15-1.2054_FC5smp.img
    save files and reboot.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    38
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper View Post
    Fedora uses Labels instead of Partition numbers. during installation, Fedora's installer detected External as Secondary disk and Labeled partitions according to that only.
    When you select External disk as First boot device in BIOS, it becomes Primary and Internal Disk becomes secondary. GRUB fails to find Labeled partition in Secondary disk.


    mount Fedora Partition in SuSe and edit /etc/fstab file
    Code:
    /dev/sda5                 /                       ext3    defaults        1 1
    devpts                  /dev/pts                devpts  gid=5,mode=620  0 0
    tmpfs                   /dev/shm                tmpfs   defaults        0 0
    /dev/sda6             /home                   ext3    defaults        1 2
    proc                    /proc                   proc    defaults        0 0
    sysfs                   /sys                    sysfs   defaults        0 0
    /dev/sdb1               swap                    swap    defaults        0 0
    delete last SWAP line.

    edit menu.lst file of SuSe.
    Code:
    title Fedora Core 5
    root (hd0,4)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.15-1.2054_FC5smp ro root=/dev/sda5 rhgb quiet
    initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.15-1.2054_FC5smp.img
    save files and reboot.
    Ok tried it and got the same error.. If it is easier to reinstall fedora first then install SUSE I can do that.. Whatever is easier.

    This is what i have.

    Code:
    /dev/sda5                /                       ext3    defaults        1 1
    devpts                  /dev/pts                devpts  gid=5,mode=620  0 0
    tmpfs                   /dev/shm                tmpfs   defaults        0 0
    /dev/sda6             /home                   ext3    defaults        1 2
    proc                    /proc                   proc    defaults        0 0
    sysfs                   /sys                    sysfs   defaults        0 0
    /dev/sdb1               swap                    swap    defaults        0 0

    Code:
    title Fedora Core 5
    	root (hd0,4)
    	kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.15-1.2054_FC5smp ro root=/dev/sda5 rhgb quiet
    	initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.15-1.2054_FC5smp.img
    Should they be sda or sdb on the changes you hade me make?

  10. #10
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    My mistake. we didn't edit swap partition name in /etc/fstab file of Fedora. edit /etc/fstab file of Fedora again.
    Code:
    /dev/sda1               swap                    swap    defaults        0 0
    Should they be sda or sdb on the changes you hade me make?
    No. post the contents of /boot/grub/device.map file of Fedora.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •