Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
Hi, I am new to Linux. I just picked up Red Hat Fedora Bible (book) and it came along with 3CDs of the binaries. As instructed I booted through the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    India
    Posts
    7

    Fedora...cant install


    Hi,
    I am new to Linux. I just picked up Red Hat Fedora Bible (book) and it came along with 3CDs of the binaries.
    As instructed I booted through the first CD....it boots fine but then when I proceed to the GUI installer.....it proceed to to show detection of hardware(in a shell environment) but then stops. It stops at something like loading anaconda...done
    starting installer.....
    /usr/sbin/(or something like that)
    But then nothing. The keyboard cursor too stops blinking if it means anything.
    Thanks in advance,
    Manoj

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer Nerderello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,190
    vvmanoj,
    sounds like there is something that Linux doesn't like about your present hardware (anaconda is a program that Linux runs to configure itself).

    Can you post your hardware list here please (ie. let us know what your PC is and what is in it).

    regards

    Nerderello

    Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    India
    Posts
    7
    Well....this is my config -> AMD AthlonXP 1800,Asus A7N266, 768MB RAM,40GB HDD,CDRW Drive,DVD Drive, Geforce3ti200,Creative Audigy,DLink LAN card and Pinnacle PCTV. Running Win2000 pro on primary partition.
    Thanks....

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    India
    Posts
    7
    Hi,
    Ok finally installed....This is what I did. I created a bootCD using the bootdisk.img file on CD1. I booted through the CD....it auto detected my Linux bootCD on my second DVD drive....and from then on everything went off smoothly......until I rebooted.
    Now when I select to boot into Fedora (in grub) it loads the GUI....there is a dialogue box that says "setting host name" and it just hangs.....
    Please can someone help!!

  5. #5
    Linux Engineer Nerderello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,190
    when you say
    it loads the GUI
    what exactly do you mean? Are you getting an X screen (perhaps an GDM or KDM login screen) or is it still only text (but with boxes and no mouse cursor)?

    have fun

    Nerderello

    Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    India
    Posts
    7
    Here is a screenshot....



    Thanks
    Manoj

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    India
    Posts
    7
    I give up. I tried everything.....removed drives, shut down my router......everything. But the problem remains.
    Its back to Windows for the time being!
    Manoj

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    78
    You could hit Alt+D on that screen and watch the modules load. Probably an interrupt sharing problem on NIC and another card. You could try moving the NIC...

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    India
    Posts
    7
    ok.....I tried it (alt+D) it opens up a console type window with a cursor. But same thing it hangs. It now hangs at " Setting up disks" I think I need to get a different distro!

  10. #10
    Linux Engineer Nerderello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,190
    that GUI is caused by the parameter 'rhgb' on the kernel line in the file /boot/grub/grub.conf .

    You should be able to see what is happening by:
    1) editing the line in /boot/grub/grub.conf to remove the 'rhgb' from the kernel line

    or

    2) click on the "show details"

    this will give you a list of activities that are happening. Find out what the last one is, and start from there.

    Nerderello

    Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •