Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 20 of 20
Hello, sorry for the delayed response. Here are the responses I got when I typed the suggested commands: [root@localhost root]# modprobe i82365 /lib/modules/2.4.19-16mdk/kernel/drivers/pcmcia/i82365.o.gz: init_module: No such device Hint: insmod errors ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    18

    Hello, sorry for the delayed response.

    Here are the responses I got when I typed the suggested commands:

    [root@localhost root]# modprobe i82365
    /lib/modules/2.4.19-16mdk/kernel/drivers/pcmcia/i82365.o.gz: init_module: No such device
    Hint: insmod errors can be caused by incorrect module parameters, including invalid IO or IRQ parameters.
    You may find more information in syslog or the output from dmesg
    modprobe: insmod /lib/modules/2.4.19-16mdk/kernel/drivers/pcmcia/i82365.o.gz failed
    modprobe: insmod i82365 failed
    [root@localhost root]# modprobe tcic
    /lib/modules/2.4.19-16mdk/kernel/drivers/pcmcia/tcic.o.gz: init_module: No such device
    Hint: insmod errors can be caused by incorrect module parameters, including invalid IO or IRQ parameters.
    You may find more information in syslog or the output from dmesg
    modprobe: insmod /lib/modules/2.4.19-16mdk/kernel/drivers/pcmcia/tcic.o.gz failed
    modprobe: insmod tcic failed
    [root@localhost root]# modprobe ds
    [root@localhost root]# modprobe yenta_socket
    [root@localhost root]# modprobe pcmcia_core
    [root@localhost root]#


    When I typed the "modprobe ds" it paused, but that was it.



    FloppyRat

  2. #12
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    OK... strange, nothing seems wrong this far. Try modprobing for pcmcia_core, ds and yenta_socket, and then start cardmgr.
    Are you sure that it locks up completely? Can't you switch to another terminal or something?

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    16

    hmmm...

    I noticed odd hardware problems on my HP (not same model), but when I made the BIOS to set it self up for OTHER operating systems (it was set to Windows), Linux worked perfectly with EVERYTHING.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    18
    Dolda200, I got an error message this time when I followed your instructions.

    "Shutting down PCMCIA services: done"
    "Starting PCMCIA services: cardmgr [2031]: watching 1 sockets done."

    Then it locked up again, and yes it is a complete lockup. Mouse & Keyboard not responding. I have to power-cycle the laptop.

    Dwolf, I have been in the BIOS but did not find a setting like you mentioned. I'm going to see if there's a BIOS upgrade available, and try that.

    Again sorry for the delayed response, having to work alot of hours.



    Floppyrat

  6. #15
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Quote Originally Posted by FloppyRat
    "Shutting down PCMCIA services: done"
    "Starting PCMCIA services: cardmgr [2031]: watching 1 sockets done."
    Are you sure that you followed my instructions? I don't think I told you to do anything that would produce such output.

  7. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    18
    Maybe I'm confused a bit. When you said earlier to start cardmgr, I think I assumed you meant PCMCIA services. Let me go back and try this again.

  8. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    18
    "Try modprobing for pcmcia_core, ds and yenta_socket, and then start cardmgr."

    How do I start cardmgr?


  9. #18
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    cardmgr is a program. Just type cardmgr. That's it really.

  10. #19
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    18
    Typed in modprobe pcmcia_core, ds and yenta_socket and then cardmgr, but if it did something, I can't tell.
    No error messages came up though, so I guess that's good, right?

    what now?

  11. #20
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    If that worked, your PCMCIA should be working. I don't think that there are any more steps involved. Try your NIC and see what happens.

    The question is why the pcmcia service hangs the machine. I'll have to get back to you on that one.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •