Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I just bought an HP Pavilion ze4200 series, and I'm trying to install Mandrake 9.0. I'm having a couple of problems: 1) If the built in NIC is initialized, then ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Installing Mandrake 9.0 on HP Pavilion....(plz help)

I just bought an HP Pavilion ze4200 series, and I'm trying to install Mandrake 9.0. I'm having a couple of problems:

1) If the built in NIC is initialized, then the boot halts on the PCMCIA part.
    2) If it boots all the way up, the keyboard is not working. It works during bootup, but at the login screen the keyboard (internal or external) is useless.

I have tried both recommend & expert installs, and I have tried a static & dhcp setting for the built in NIC. I'm a Linux newbie, so any advice you can offer me will be greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,
    FloppyRat

Just Joined!
    Just a few suggestions
    first if you tell the installation that there is no ethernet card then it should bypass the pcmcia problem(still not sure how the NIC affected that).
    Secondly if you set it up to auto-login a specific user, does the keyboard work after boot?
    Third what type of connection is the keyboard (PS/2 or USB)??

Linux Enthusiast
    try disabling plug n play in the bios

Linux Guru
    Notebook computers sometimes are a little too "custom designs", so to speak. It's not impossible that it hangs due to a hardware fault which Linux isn't prepared for, and in that case the PCMCIA initialization could hang the system whether or not you've enabled the NIC during installation.
    Anyway, like yow said, first try disabling Plug 'n' Play in the BIOS to see if that fixes the NIC problem.