Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
Greetings all. I have a vista/ubuntu dual boot. Everything had been working fine for a while when I decided to erase some unused partitions with gedit. I erased a fat32 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    98

    Unhappy dual boot grub problem...need help!


    Greetings all. I have a vista/ubuntu dual boot. Everything had been working fine for a while when I decided to erase some unused partitions with gedit. I erased a fat32 and an ext3 partition. Both of these were data only partitions. I have another ext3 partition in which ubuntu is installed. I never touched that partition, nor did I touch the partition where vista is installed. However, now when I try to boot grub gets an error. The grub menu doesn't even come up. It says error 22. Not sure what to do. Right now I'm using a live cd. Please help.

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    98
    Here is my fdisk -l command, if it helps:

    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo fdisk -l

    Disk /dev/sda: 320.0 GB, 320072933376 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 38913 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 1 6 48163+ de Dell Utility
    /dev/sda2 7 1312 10485760 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda3 * 1312 4499 25603305+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda4 4500 38913 276430455 5 Extended
    /dev/sda5 4500 29995 204796588+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda6 * 29996 38548 68701941 83 Linux
    /dev/sda7 38549 38913 2931831 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$

  3. #3
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    mount / partition of Ubuntu and post the contents of /etc/fstab and /boot/grub/menu.lst ( first title block only ) files.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    98
    The results of fdisk -l are posted above.

    fstab file:

    # /dev/sda3 (Vista Partition)
    /dev/sda3 /media/vista ntfs-3g defaults,noauto,user,uid=1000,gid=1000,umask=0 0 0

    # /dev/sda5 (NTFS Data Partition)
    /dev/sda5 /media/ntfs ntfs-3g defaults,user,uid=1000,gid=1000,umask=0 0 0

    # /dev/sda6 (Linux Root Partition)
    UUID=9bbfe586-6d91-4f47-aca0-4d95e97fb60f / ext3 defaults,errors=remount-ro 0 1

    # /dev/sda7 (Swap)
    UUID=6e6f28d1-8c8b-4b8a-a416-f580bae7b368 none swap sw 0 0

    Grub menu:
    title 1. Windows Vista
    root (hd0,2)
    savedefault
    makeactive
    chainloader +1

    title 2. Ubuntu
    root (hd0,5)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.17-10-generic root=/dev/sda6 ro quiet splash
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.17-10-generic
    quiet
    savedefault
    boot

    Thank you so much!

  6. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    every thing is correct. i think UUIDs have been changed. edit /etc/fstab file.
    Code:
    # /dev/sda3 (Vista Partition)
    /dev/sda3                         /media/vista       ntfs-3g defaults,noauto,user,uid=1000,gid=1000,umask=0   0  0
     
    # /dev/sda5 (NTFS Data Partition)
    /dev/sda5                      /media/ntfs   ntfs-3g  defaults,user,uid=1000,gid=1000,umask=0   0 0  
     
    # /dev/sda6 (Linux Root Partition)
      /dev/sda6 /           ext3  defaults,errors=remount-ro 0    1
     
    # /dev/sda7  (Swap)
    /dev/sda7 none          swap           sw              0      0
    save file and reboot.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    98
    Just tried that. Still get same exact error.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    98
    Here is new fstab file:

    # proc
    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0

    # /dev/sda3 (Vista Partition)
    /dev/sda3 /media/vista ntfs-3g defaults,noauto,user,uid=1000,gid=1000,umask=0 0 0

    # /dev/sda5 (NTFS Data Partition)
    /dev/sda5 /media/ntfs ntfs-3g defaults,user,uid=1000,gid=1000,umask=0 0 0

    # /dev/sda6 (Linux Root Partition)
    /dev/sda6 / ext3 defaults,errors=remount-ro 0 1

    # /dev/sda7 (Swap)
    /dev/sda7 none swap sw 0 0

  9. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    hmm.. try to re-install GRUB.
    Code:
    mkdir Ubuntu
    sudo mount -t ext3 /dev/sda6 Ubuntu
    sudo chroot Ubuntu
    sudo grub-install /dev/sda
    in case it doesn't work, download SuperGRUB CD .iso image from here. burn .iso image to CD and boot from it. select Re-install GRUB option from list.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    98
    When I try the grub-install command it says /dev/sda not found. Should I change it to /dev/sda6?

    ubuntu@ubuntu:/media$ sudo chroot ubuntu
    root@ubuntu:/# sudo grub-install /dev/sda
    /dev/sda: Not found or not a block device.
    root@ubuntu:/#

  11. #10
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Should I change it to /dev/sda6?
    No. that will install GRUB in boot sector of sda6 only. this is a problem in Ubuntu LiveCD. grub-install doesn't work most of the time.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •