Find the answer to your Linux question:
I need some basic help on partitioning. I have a computer that i built myself that has windows xp on it right now. i wanna keep windows xp and have ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Partitioning Help

I need some basic help on partitioning. I have a computer that i built myself that has windows xp on it right now. i wanna keep windows xp and have a dual boot with Elive linux. I am very new to linux so keep that in mind. In Elive there is a program called GParted. I couldn't find any real guide with google on how to do what I want so I am asking here. I would really appreciate it if someone could give detailed instrucitons on how to create a new partition and dual boot Elive and win xp. Thanks a lot.

here are a few guides to work with Gparted.

Gparted Guides

You can also download live cd/live usb version of Gparted and partion the disk before entering in to installation

Gparted downloads
    life is the greatest opportunity that the nature had given you

Just Joined!
    ok thanks for those, i read them and they were really helpful. but now can someone tell me what i need to do. I only have one hard drive right and I want to take 20 GB from that and use it for Linux, so that I don't lose anything on my windows partition. Now do I resize my drive down by 20 GB? Then does that become unallocated space or what? If that does do I create a new partition from that? Can someone just fill me in on this cause I understand how to use the program I'm just not sure what I have to do. But also another confusing factor is I think ELive wants three different partitions. This really confuses me. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    i had looked at Elive review and it's really cool spilling up the mac look

I think ELive wants three different partitions.
    i think every linux distro want's atleast 3 partions