Find the answer to your Linux question:
hi, I am planning on installing Linux on an iMac as well and seeing as how I'm a novice at linux and a total stranger to mac I was wondering ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Linux on iMac G3

hi, I am planning on installing Linux on an iMac as well and seeing as how I'm a novice at linux and a total stranger to mac I was wondering if I could tag along with this post?
    The mac I want to intall on is a iMac with a 450MHz PowerPC G3 processor and 64 MB SDRAM running OS 9
    I also plan on using ubuntu or maybe xubuntu to start with, as this is the distro I am most familiar with... Never installed it on anything other than windows machines though... so this should be a fun ride

Arrow

Quote Originally Posted by potherca View Post
    hi, I am planning on installing Linux on an iMac as well and seeing as how I'm a novice at linux and a total stranger to mac I was wondering if I could tag along with this post?
    The mac I want to intall on is a iMac with a 450MHz PowerPC G3 processor and 64 MB SDRAM running OS 9
    I also plan on using ubuntu or maybe xubuntu to start with, as this is the distro I am most familiar with... Never installed it on anything other than windows machines though... so this should be a fun ride
    looks your machine is too slow. i dought your machine would run ubuntu/xubuntu just meets requriments

To run the Xubuntu Desktop CD at lest 128 megabytes of RAM are required. To use the installed system at least 64 megabytes of RAM is required but 128 is recommended.

Their are many distros which would run on your machine

http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/cof...-hardware.html
    life is the greatest opportunity that the nature had given you

Smile still in the running for ubuntu

Quote Originally Posted by abhishek456 View Post
    looks your machine is too slow. i dought your machine would run ubuntu/xubuntu just meets requriments