Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 50
oh yea with C: properties i have 94.8 gigsbytes left of free space, if thats what u meant, hold on, i got an idea, ill install it on my computer ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    32

    oh yea with C: properties i have 94.8 gigsbytes left of free space, if thats what u meant,


    hold on, i got an idea,

    ill install it on my computer while posting and asking questions on my moms computer as i go along. it'll work better that way

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    32
    Quote Originally Posted by tr_wright1
    114401 to 144366 looks like your windows partition has gotten bigger!
    i meant 114401 to 114366 sorry

  3. #13
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Looe, Cornwall UK
    Posts
    152
    if u work out how much memory you have got and times it by 2 then you will know how big your swap needs to be.
    click "new" select "linux swap" from one of the menus and then enter the value that you worked out earlier into the "size" box and click ok.
    make another partition but an ext3 type this time, in the "mount point" box enter "/boot" and click ok. make another one of as much as you like but make it big as all your software will live on here (with a hard drive of 111gb and with lots of space left i would make it about 20gb, this will give you more than enough space to expand.
    if you want to acess your windows partition under linux, click it, click edit and give it mount point of something like "/c:" DON'T CHANGE ANY OTHER OPTIONS!!!! if you want to make more space that windows can acess the make the fat32 partitions and mount them as required. click done and then click ok on the little box that pops up.
    Cry out for freedom! Cry out for Linux!

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    32
    tr_wright1 or anyone:

    how do i make those 3 linux partitions???

  6. #15
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Looe, Cornwall UK
    Posts
    152
    oops /boot needs 2 b about 200mb.
    Cry out for freedom! Cry out for Linux!

  7. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    32
    how do i change type

    and do i need to click on windows partition the blue box that says "/mnt/windows"?

  8. #17
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Looe, Cornwall UK
    Posts
    152
    it should be a menu on the window some where might have a couple of up down arrows
    your windows partition has already been given a mount point "/mnt/windows" is where u will find it after install.
    Cry out for freedom! Cry out for Linux!

  9. #18
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    32
    but i mean, do i click on my windows partition before doing all this?

  10. #19
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Looe, Cornwall UK
    Posts
    152
    nope, only change type on the linux ones
    Cry out for freedom! Cry out for Linux!

  11. #20
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Looe, Cornwall UK
    Posts
    152
    otherwise it might be au revoir windows
    Cry out for freedom! Cry out for Linux!

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •