Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
1)How do I know if my OS is 32-bit or 64-OS Red Hat Linux 2)How do I install 32-bit Linux on Dell EM64T machine. 3) I do not see DVD ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    3

    How Do


    1)How do I know if my OS is 32-bit or 64-OS Red Hat Linux
    2)How do I install 32-bit Linux on Dell EM64T machine.
    3) I do not see DVD in my linux Install. What should I be looking for to make it auto mount.
    Any Help.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,127
    1)Run the command 'uname -i' - i686 indicates it is running a 32 bit OS
    2)There is no special instructions required, just pop the disc in as usual.
    3)If it is a DVD film it will be encrypted and require libdvdcss to be accessed, and may not be mounted like a normal disc.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    3
    Thanks for reply.
    1)I have following:
    uname -i
    i386

    Does that mean it is 32-bit or 64-bit OS

    Also:
    uname -a gives me
    Linux host.domain 2.6.9-34.EL #1 Fri Feb 24 16:44:51 EST 2006 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux

    So how can I make 32-bit OS to start on boot as I have other software to install on 32-bit OS which do not work on 64-bit OS.

    3) I have software to be installed on 32-bit OS which is in DVD format. This is not DVD film?
    Any help.
    Thanks

  4. #4
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,127
    It looks like you already have a 32 bit system running. As for the DVD you can mount it manually using the mount command, but I do not use Red Hat so there may be something else I am missing here.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    3
    You mentioned that 'uname -i' - i686 indicates it is running a 32 bit OS
    But I get uname -i i386

    So on logo am I in 64-bit OS?

    How do I make only 32-bit OS loaded when I login and not 64-bit.
    is there anything changes I have do do at startup or login?

    Also Also:
    uname -a gives me
    Linux host.domain 2.6.9-34.EL #1 Fri Feb 24 16:44:51 EST 2006 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux

    Why do I see i686 i386 .

    I am extremly new to this linux workd.
    Please help so I can atleast get started to have 32-bit OS and install my software for testing.

  6. #6
    Linux Guru smolloy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CA, but from N.Ireland
    Posts
    2,414
    i386 and i686 mean that your's is a 32bit OS. From the results of "uname -a" I am 100% certain that you are using a 32bit OS.

    100% certain.
    Registered Linux user #388328 || Registered LFS user #15880
    AMD 64 X2 4600+ :: 2X1GB DDR2 800 :: GeForce 9400 GT 512MB :: ASUS M2N32 Deluxe :: 4X250GB SATAII
    Need instant help? Try us on IRC -- #linuxforums on freenode

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •