Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, i'm a newbie in linux kernel compilation. i tried building the kernel for the first time just for fun and found that it asks so many weired questions(for any ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Building custom kernel

Hi,

i'm a newbie in linux kernel compilation.
    i tried building the kernel for the first time just for fun and found that it asks
    so many weired questions(for any newbiee it is almost impossible to understand what to select,what not to select and what to select as module out of those thousands of options)
    Following were my steps while building kernel:

1: cd ~amit/linux<w-x-y-z->
    2: make menuconfig
    didn't do any changes - > save -> exit
    3: make modules
    4: make
    5: su -
    6: cd ~amit/linux<w-x-y-z>
    7: make modules_install
    8: make
    9: reboot
    Grub showed an additional entry and i booted from that kernel(<w-x-y-z>) but after initial kernel initialization the boot process invoked /bin/sh and after that kernel panicd

Is there any way to minimize this intervention between a newbie and kernel compilation process.
    make defconfig (for selecting some default values)might help but i am not sure of this.
    is there any better to handle this ? any document which give some insight into those thousands options and pros and cons of each selection(Y/N/M).

~amit

You won't be able to boot your system succesfully if you don't add support for your hardware during config. Navigate through the menus, select what you understand and compile a list of thing you feel are important and you don't understand and post here.
    A couple of tips:

- Build ALSA drivers as modules
    - Use lspci to get a clue about your current hardware
    Put your hand in an oven for a minute and it will be like an hour, sit beside a beautiful woman for an hour and it will be like a minute, that is relativity. --Albert Einstein
    Linux User #425940