Find the answer to your Linux question:
Although it was a Suse distro I was trying out as a relative newbie, I post here as I might try another and it does relate to a compile. I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

revert to old kernel gives modules problem

Although it was a Suse distro I was trying out as a relative newbie, I post here as I might try another and it does relate to a compile.

I went through the 'make menuconfig', 'make', 'make modules_install install' and it all finished nicely. I saw the new was in /boot along with the old vmlinuz.

I rebooted and things ran fine. As it was an overall testing thing I thought to redo Grub to go back to original default kernel, so made the changes renaming the files in /boot.

On reboot the message screen complained about the modules being wrong.
    Only by returning to using the newly compiled kernel would the boot be ok.

The question is, shouldn't it be possible to revert to previous kernel and what did I miss out to cause the modules error?

thanks

please post wish kind of modules errors .

also post the menu.lst grub configuration file , did you make the initrd image or just you are using the old one .

Regards.
    Linux is not only an operating system, it's a philosophy.
    Archost.

Just Joined!
    Hello,

here's what I did. Although I mentioned Grub, all I did when I wanted to revert to original kernel was change the names of System.mapxxxxdefault and vmlinuzxxxxdefault to end in 'new' and then change the originals (which the kernel compile/install had changed to xxxold) so they ended in xxxxdefault. This was because the Grub entries showed like that. Nothing had changed the initrdxxxx file in /boot.

On reboot the screen messages when you hit 'Esc' show errors after about a third of normal hardware entries and I've edited it down so:

Boot logging started on /dev/tty1(/dev/console) at Fri Nov 9 14.32 2007
    Trying manual resume from /dev/hda5