Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Hello all, I have this box that I cant reboot in anyway. Since its a remote box and I cant do anything about it... I cant change its bootloader and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429

    Reload Kernel without rebooting..?


    Hello all,
    I have this box that I cant reboot in anyway. Since its a remote box and I cant do anything about it... I cant change its bootloader and thus pick its kernel.
    But is there a way to unload a kernel and load another kernel?
    Since I really need something like that.
    and I thought I read somewere that linux can do that

    So, what about that?

    Cheers,
    Robin
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer aliov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Geneva,Beirut
    Posts
    1,078
    Quote Originally Posted by RobinVossen View Post
    But is there a way to unload a kernel and load another kernel?
    No.

    You can change the default kernel from grub or lilo and the reboot.
    Linux is not only an operating system, it's a philosophy.
    Archost.

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    I cant reboot. So I am screwed.
    I know 90% for sure that I did read something that it can be done.
    Though I have NO idea how... Maybe that he keeps the current Kernel into the RAM and then unloads it. And then the new Kernel starts and then loads that one. And then Restarts (not reboots) the system.
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

  4. #4
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,677
    Not really sure what you read. If you unload the kernel you will have to stop all services and then restart them once the kernel is reloaded. So you are rebooting.

    My question why you cannot reboot this box in any way? it is because the services cannot be stopped due to client usage of them? If that is the case they will lose connection when you try to reload the kernel anyway.

    Or is it because you don't have the privs to reboot this box? In that case you wouldn't have the ability to reload the kernel anyway.

    Since you say you cannot change the boot loader I an thinking that you do not have the privs on this box and that would be the reason why you cannot boot this box. In this case you are SOL.

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  5. #5
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    Well, its since its a vertual server.
    That I dont own.
    I only have access to it using SSH.
    So the box has to be started..
    And I have been looking for a grub conf.. Wasnt there and a Lilo conf also not there.
    So Id thought, "crap"

    is there anythink of way to do this?
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

  6. #6
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,677
    I don't know anything about virtual servers as I have to date not worked on any. I would think how every that they would work in the same matter as any other server. What Disto is this virtual server running on and what OS is installed on this virtual server?

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  7. #7
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    Well since they are Vritual Servers there isnt a Active Grub/Lilo config.
    Neither is there a Prpher fstab file.
    Basicly its a Chrooted system.
    (But then using OpenVZ or Vintrizzo Not sure)

    THanks all,
    Cheers,

    Robin
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •