Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello, I'm new to kernel programming. My kernel module commits the sin of saving a file to disk every time it gets unloaded. I'm aware it's a naughty thing to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Unique session ID?

Hello,

I'm new to kernel programming. My kernel module commits the sin of saving a file to disk every time it gets unloaded. I'm aware it's a naughty thing to do. The module will be loaded at boot, and unloaded when the system shuts down.

I'm trying to find a way to generate a unique filename every time the module gets unloaded.

My first idea is to use some sort of a "session ID", if such a concept exists in Linux. Is there such a thing as a unique ID that identifies the current "session"? By "session", I mean the time between you boot into and shut down Linux.

As far as I know, there is no way to get the current local time from kernelspace, as the kernel has no concept of timezones, daylight savings, etc. That would have been my second option. I don't suppose there exists a way to obtain the current time after all? How about time since the epoch?

Lastly, although I hate the approach, is there a way to generate a random filename that is more or less guaranteed to be unique?

Thank you in advance for the help, and sorry for breaking some unwritten rules of kernel module programming.

Linux Guru
    I dunno if any of these might be available to your module in some way...

Shell Scripting - Temp Files

Just Joined!
    Thanks for the tip. I never knew that existed, and it may be useful in the future.

Unfortunately, it seems that very few things are available to module programmers. We can't even use the C standard library.