Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, All, I have been using LINUX for several years, but only for daily use. During these days, I also want to know how it works. So I read some ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

How to improve my skills?

Hi, All,
    I have been using LINUX for several years, but only for daily use. During these days, I also want to know how it works. So I read some books such as <<Understanding the linux kernel>>,
    <<Linux Device Driver>>, etc, But I didn't have a deep understanding about them.
    And Now I wonder how could I do to improve my skills? Keeping on reading the source code?
    I'm so tired for it's large source code , it makes me feel that I don't know to read which part...

Thanks!

I don't think even the kernel hackers understand every aspect of the kernel, so don't worry

What I can tell you is that you forget things quickly if you don't apply new knowledge.

So my recommendation is to specialize and focus on smaller parts. Not only by reading, but actually hack things of your interest.
    Debian GNU/Linux -- You know you want it.

I would tend to steer someone who wants to know more about the inner workings of Linux by suggesting some reading on more advanced user levels. I too used Linux for a period of time before I started to really dig further to understand how the system works. Using the system by reading advanced topics and then applying them has served me better than simply reading, especially about the kernel.

To this end, I would recommend books like:
    1. CompTIa Linux+ Certification Study Guide, by Robb Tracy. There are a number of topics in it that will broaden your understanding of the Linux system and Linux networking. I found it valuable even though I did find a number of typos. Critical reading helps here.