Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I am new to linux and I am using ubuntu (kernel version: 2.6.27-7-generic) at the moment. I want to recomile the kernel to 2.4.32. But when i try the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

need help with make bzImage

Hi, I am new to linux and I am using ubuntu (kernel version: 2.6.27-7-generic) at the moment. I want to recomile the kernel to 2.4.32. But when i try the command 'make bzImage' i get the following error. Can someone please help me with this. Thanks in advance.

Code:
    root@hasantha-laptop:/usr/src/linux-2.4.32# make bzImage
    gcc -D__KERNEL__ -I/usr/src/linux-2.4.32/include -Wall -Wstrict-prototypes -Wno-trigraphs -O2 -fno-strict-aliasing -fno-common -fomit-frame-pointer -pipe -mpreferred-stack-boundary=2 -march=i686 -fno-unit-at-a-time   -DKBUILD_BASENAME=main -c -o init/main.o init/main.c
    In file included from /usr/src/linux-2.4.32/include/linux/prefetch.h:13,
                     from /usr/src/linux-2.4.32/include/linux/list.h:6,
                     from /usr/src/linux-2.4.32/include/linux/wait.h:14,
                     from /usr/src/linux-2.4.32/include/linux/fs.h:12,
                     from /usr/src/linux-2.4.32/include/linux/capability.h:17,
                     from /usr/src/linux-2.4.32/include/linux/binfmts.h:5,
                     from /usr/src/linux-2.4.32/include/linux/sched.h:9,
                     from /usr/src/linux-2.4.32/include/linux/mm.h:4,
                     from /usr/src/linux-2.4.32/include/linux/slab.h:14,
                     from /usr/src/linux-2.4.32/include/linux/proc_fs.h:5,
                     from init/main.c:15:
    /usr/src/linux-2.4.32/include/asm/processor.h:75: error: array type has incomplete element type
    In file included from /usr/src/linux-2.4.32/include/linux/fs.h:322,
    /usr/src/linux-2.4.32/include/linux/ncp_fs_i.h:26: warning: ‚packed‚ attribute ignored for field of type ‚__u8‚