Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi all, I'm new in the stuff of kernel programming. I want to write a kernel module in which I have to allocate a continious memory of 24MB. And I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

How to allocate 24MB memory in kernel space

Hi all,
    I'm new in the stuff of kernel programming. I want to write a kernel module in which I have to allocate a continious memory of 24MB. And I need the physical start address of these area to give it to another program.

I already tried diffrent things but nothing solved my problem.

1. to allocate with kmalloc worked fine but then I heard about the 128kB boarder.
    2. __get_free_pages an __get_dma_pages failed in kernel exeptions.
    3. I also tried to give the kernel the parameter mem=1000M at boottime to reserve the last 24MB for my module.
    But when I tried to remap the memory in kernelspace with ioremap( 0x3E800000 /* 1000MB */, 0x1800000 /* 24MB */) to get the physical start address of these area I get a kernel exeption again.

Can anyone help me?

Thanks to everyone who spend time on my problem.

Michael

Just Joined!

Thumbs up

have you tried with vmalloc ? of course it will give you virtually contigous memory....is that what you need ?
    another thing is : you never get physical start address, but get kernel virtual start address.
    of couse physical address is PAGE_OFFSET away.

Just Joined!
    hi matt,
    thanks for your answer but vmalloc doesn't work. I need physical addresses because I have to give the startaddress to an PCI-Device which is using the memory for buffering data.
    when I use kmalloc I get an address which can be translated to physical address by using virt_to_phys() but the memory I can malloc with kmalloc isn't big enough.

Just Joined!
    What's the 128kB border? According to slab.h, the KMALLOC_MAX_SIZE is 4MB
    (2^(MAX_ORDER + PAGE_SHIFT -1), which is 2^(11 + 12 - 1) = 1MB * 2^2