Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, i'm a Linux kernel programming newbie. However I'm involved in a project, in which I have to develop a new scheduling class for a new scheduling policy. This scheduling ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Hrtimer

Hi, i'm a Linux kernel programming newbie.
    However I'm involved in a project, in which I have to develop a new scheduling class for a new scheduling policy. This scheduling policy is based on a timer. So, I've implemented a timer mechanism that periodic fire a timer. However, I need to invoke the schedule() function within of the handler function of the timer. Can anybody help me, how can I invoke the schedule() function? I did that but I got some problems, namely the system crash.
    I' using the Linux kernel version 2.6.24 and Ubuntu distro.

Regards
    pbsousa

I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    I take it that schedule() is your function? Also, which system timer function are you using, setitimer(), or sys_timer_create() to set your timer?
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

Just Joined!
    hi Rubberman, many thanks but Ive already solved the problem. However I'm using hrtimers and I don't need to invoke schedule() function because after an interrupt this function is automatically invoked.

Just Joined!
    Have you solved this yet? I can pnly get HRTIMER_NORESTART calls
    working so far.

There must be some way of re-triggering the timer, but all my efforts have met with a system crash so far

oz
    forum.guy
    Quote Originally Posted by robin48gx View Post
    Have you solved this yet? I can pnly get HRTIMER_NORESTART calls
    working so far.

There must be some way of re-triggering the timer, but all my efforts have met with a system crash so far
    Welcome to the forums, robin!