Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I'm an experienced C/C++ programmer but completely new to Linux. I want to get into kernel and device driver programming, and there is something I need to understand before I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

1st steps into compiling kernel

I'm an experienced C/C++ programmer but completely new to Linux. I want to get into kernel and device driver programming, and there is something I need to understand before I go any further.

• If different distributions claim to have the same version of kernel, is it absolutely certain that they will have been built using identical kernel source? Or will their kernels simply be "based on" the same kernels?
    • I get the impression from stuff I've read I should not compile the source provided by my distribution (KateOS 3.6 in my case), but download the original kernel source to compile on one side, so to speak. Does this seem right?

Grateful for any help. Thanks.

oz
    forum.guy
    The kernel source comes from here:

The Linux Kernel Archives

The developers working on the kernel for each distribution modify and patch the kernel as they see fit for their particular distribution.

Check this link for working with the kernel:

http://www.digitalhermit.com/linux/K...ild-HOWTO.html

...it's never failed me.
    oz

Linux Guru
    Quote Originally Posted by PastAsNew View Post
    If different distributions claim to have the same version of kernel, is it absolutely certain that they will have been built using identical kernel source? Or will their kernels simply be "based on" the same kernels?