Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
Hi, I tried to install one of linux OS on my labtop after wiping it clean and shortly after I clicked install, it states that I don't have the correct ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    2

    Question The Kernel Problem


    Hi, I tried to install one of linux OS on my labtop after wiping it clean and shortly after I clicked install, it states that I don't have the correct Kernel? I needed to re install an operating system so I decided to try linux after wiping it clean. What does this mean? This is a first for me.
    Last edited by ccooper; 04-27-2009 at 07:32 PM. Reason: To explain a little better

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,159
    Quote Originally Posted by ccooper View Post
    Hi, I tried to install one of linux OS on my labtop after wiping it clean and shortly after I clicked install, it states that I don't have the correct Kernel? I needed to re install an operating system so I decided to try linux after wiping it clean. What does this mean? This is a first for me.
    What distribution+version of Linux are you trying to install, and what hardware is it going on (CPU, RAM, disc space, networking, etc)?
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  3. #3
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Hello and Welcome.
    Which distro did you download? Did you check the md5 sums before you burned it to disk?
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    2

    Response

    I bought the new 64 BIT 5 PACK set off ebay. 5 COMPLETE OPERATING SYSTEMS + CD. I tried to install the ubuntu, kubuntu, and the fedora operating system and had the same problem with each. Im not sure where it was trying to install all I know is that I put the cd in my labtop after erasing everything and the kernel message eventually came up. How do I find out?

  5. #5
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,159
    My guess is that your system doesn't support a full 64-bit OS. You might check in the BIOS settings so see if there is something there. What is the CPU in your laptop (manufacturer and model # - your BIOS should be able to say, if you don't know).
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •